Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 883
Miles Away From You
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your life.

Miles Away From You is a wreck of a novel, in that it totally encapsulates grief, it's effects--and what it's like to, try to move on.

Miles' girlfriend is in a coma, and everything outside of her seems wrong. The art website and magazine they've worked on together--seems like a space that will never be filled again.

Everything is just off, and Miles is barely dealing with it. As a result, his Mom's send him off to Iceland. For a month.

In Iceland, he meets people, learns things--and eventually learns how to move forward.

While the book is heavy on the grief, it doesn't feel too bogged down by Vivian's comatose state. It allows for character growth--and story progression, never allowing the story to stay in one place for too long--which can happen when one of the main characters die, or start the story off dead--or even near death.

This book, while not necessarily for everyone, will appeal to a general audience--particularly if you've lost someone before.

There are solid characters, misadventures, and picturesque moments that will appeal to many a reader.

Miles will regale you with his awkwardness, and the changes that slowly take place throughout the story.

A great story for teenagers and adults alike, the overall message of hope will give the reader something to root for, and maybe even a romance to swoon over.
1 like
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Waste of Space
 
4.0
"A satirical look into a reality show set in Outer Space. Readers get a back seat into witnessing what..."
Wax
Wax
 
5.0
"I love Gina Damico. I just do. I feel like she gets my sense of humor. I loved the Croak..."
Hellhole
 
4.7
"This book is hysterical. Let's talk about what "hysterical" means. hys·ter·i·cal - h??ster?k(?)l/ - adjective 1. deriving from or..."
Rogue (Croak #3)
 
5.0
"This review will be spoiler-free for the series. What I Loved: Today I shall exhort you to begin..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"From the moment I looked at the cover, I knew that I was going to love Croak. I mean, seriously...."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"One great thing about being a Cybil's panelist has to be discovering some great books. CROAK is one such..."
Scorch (Croak #2)
 
3.3
"Scorch made me feel, but the problem is it just made me feel rage. There were plenty of chances for..."
Scorch (Croak #2)
 
4.3
"Gina Damico's Croak ranks as one of the funniest books I've ever read. She has this great, dark, absurdist sense..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"Croak caught my eye early on. Grim reapers. A strong and sarcastic main character. What more could a reader ask..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.0
"Croak started off pretty slow, but I found myself really enjoying it by then end. At first everything seemed really..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"Croak is a great debut, hands down. It was hilarious, it was dark, and put a new spin onto one..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
5.0
"Amazingly, awesomely, astoundingly fantastic! This was so fun and easy to read. The setting, the characters, the story, the sharp..."