Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 765
A friendship-focused YA with only touches of romance
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
WHAT I LOVED:
The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my best friend and me in high school, but we talked it out and we’ve now been friends for close to ten years. When Kat and Meg get paired up for their science fair project, their friendship has the same ebbs and flows, arguments and bonding moments that anyone would have with their best friend. It’ll make you appreciate yours more!

The angle of them bonding over their shared interest in the fictional gamer LumberLegs’s videos was familiar as well; I’m a huge fan of a YouTuber named Minx and her wife Krism. Regardless, that activity translated badly to the page. Even being someone who engages in the exact same behavior, reading about it just felt awkward. Maybe it’s because LumberLegs is a clear Pewdiepie copy and I despise that rancid, racist man? Or it’s just weird to read about someone watching videos.

WHAT LEFT ME WANTING:
The downside of the novel is how strong the secondhand cringe is. It took me back to the Actual Worst things from high school, which cut me so deeply that I could hardly stand reading it at times. Stuff like science fair projects, group projects in general, and procrastination-happy people. These things in the book took me back to doing all that and my fury came back to strongly I had to keep putting the book down!

(Seriously, I hated science fair projects so much that because honors science classes from seventh grade onward in my district required each student do one, I demanded to be put in regular-track science classes. I was perfectly capable of science at the honors level and made excellent grades in them, but I refused to endure the science fair projects. It and the Great Debates debacle were just two of my acts of academic self-sabotage. Feel free to ask about the latter, it's both deeply shameful and an impressive display of just how much I've always despised public speaking.)

(The message of that aside is GIVE KIDS OPTIONS. DO NOT MAKE A MASSIVE PART OF THEIR GRADE DEPEND ON A PROJECT THEY ARE NOT COMFORTABLE DOING.)

Kat’s anxiety counting habit grated on me as well. She finds counting like “one elephant, two elephant,” etc. boring. Instead, when she’s feeling anxious and trying to calm herself down, she counts like “one safety, two warm blanket, three LumberLegs screaming because he died in the game,” and it’s just– UGH. NO WORDS. JUST DISLIKE. It’s not the behavior itself that bugs me, it’s her counting method. The behavior is entirely realistic even if my anxiety attacks are too strong to let me count. My experience ain’t everyone’s.

Well, that’s that. Great if you need a friendship-focused YA with only touches of romance on the side (both girls are interested in different boys) and a modern set-up.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"I’ll Give You the Sun is a masterpiece of the Young Adult genre, perfectly incorporating the feel of what it..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Release
 
4.0
"Wildly original--and completely realistic--Release is a whirlwind of a tale, one that will leave you both completely confused, yet satiated...."
How to Be You: Stop Trying to Be Someone Else and Start Living Your Life
 
4.0
"Before reading this I had not heard of Jeffrey Marsh, but after reading this book I can tell you that..."
Fan Art
 
4.3
"Sarah Tregay’s Fan Art is a hopeful and charming coming-of-age YA novel about the experiences of first love, coming out,..."
Two Boys Kissing
 
4.7
"Two Boys Kissing is an utterly unique novel, not only in its structure but in its innovative exploration of LGBTQI+..."
If You Could Be Mine
 
5.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2016/10/if-you-could-be-mine-by-sara-farizan.html Sahar is in love with her friend, Nasrin. But..."
Symptoms of Being Human
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Riley explains genderfluidity as a dial. It’s somewhere in the middle on some days, all the..."
An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes
 
3.0
"Random note: There are a lot of great quotes in this book. My favorite one by far is this: "We..."
An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes
 
4.0
"One of my best friends let me borrow her Monster Manuel when she was trying to recruit me to play..."
Openly Straight
 
4.3
"Rafe's entire life has been colored by the fact that he is gay. He is comfortable with who he..."
Openly Straight
 
4.7
"Openly Straight addresses the fact that being gay is just one of the traits of one person, and being gay..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"Beautifully flawed characters and a story to stir the soul. One of the best YA books I've read in a..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
N/A
"I have always heard amazing things from Jandy Nelson's first book "The Sky is Everywhere" and when I got a..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
4.7
"What I Loved: This book is beautiful. I just cannot even with how amazing this book actually is. If you..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
3.7
"What I loved: I loved how it wasn’t necessarily a love story — though, there is the cutest romance..."
Fan Art
 
3.0
"What I Liked: The main character, Jamie, seems to be the main factor for whether or not you like this..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
Made of Stars
 
4.7
"A sign of a great writer?- The reader becomes so emotionally invested in the characters that they can’t let go...."