Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1202
A delicious novel with a fun setting
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Emmaline King is slowly adjusting to her new town. Nothing particularly exciting happens there, so when the Le Grand Carnival Fantastic rolls in, she’s ready to have some fun. But the carnival isn’t all it seems, and one spontaneous kiss with a carnival performer changes everything. Emmaline’s body stiffens, hardens, and finally settles into a life-size doll version of herself. She now must perform as the Girl in the Box if she ever wants to leave the mysterious carnival whose existence is meshed with both a charm and a curse, both with herself at the center.

BY A CHARM AND CURSE has one of the most fun, unique premises I’ve read. Le Grand Carnival Fantastic is a mesmerizing and enticing setting with marvels in every scene. Author Jaime Questell walks the tight-rope of the dark and light sides of magic throughout the novel while connecting it to broader issues of sacrifice, heartache, love, and pain.

As much as I love the magic, what truly captures the reader is Emmaline. Her emotional journey is staggeringly real, especially when she first understands what happened to her when she kissed the Boy in the Box and what she now must do if she wants to be free. She is forced to question her own character, her morals, and everything she believes in, and she feels the weight of the possible consequences any of her actions could have. During her journey, she falls for Ben, who has been trying to escape the carnival life for years. I love how they slowly open up to each other, and I appreciated the realistic dilemmas both are in, especially when it comes to the curse.

With a gorgeous setting, a sweet romance, and a story that demands your attention (no matter what the time on the clock says), BY A CHARM AND A CURSE is a delicious novel for those who know magic can be as dangerous as it can be helpful.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Whatever Became of the Squishies? (Whatever Became of the Squishies #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Isabelle I was looking for something to inspire my class of 9th graders into exploring books and..."