Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1383
A delicious novel with a fun setting
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Emmaline King is slowly adjusting to her new town. Nothing particularly exciting happens there, so when the Le Grand Carnival Fantastic rolls in, she’s ready to have some fun. But the carnival isn’t all it seems, and one spontaneous kiss with a carnival performer changes everything. Emmaline’s body stiffens, hardens, and finally settles into a life-size doll version of herself. She now must perform as the Girl in the Box if she ever wants to leave the mysterious carnival whose existence is meshed with both a charm and a curse, both with herself at the center.

BY A CHARM AND CURSE has one of the most fun, unique premises I’ve read. Le Grand Carnival Fantastic is a mesmerizing and enticing setting with marvels in every scene. Author Jaime Questell walks the tight-rope of the dark and light sides of magic throughout the novel while connecting it to broader issues of sacrifice, heartache, love, and pain.

As much as I love the magic, what truly captures the reader is Emmaline. Her emotional journey is staggeringly real, especially when she first understands what happened to her when she kissed the Boy in the Box and what she now must do if she wants to be free. She is forced to question her own character, her morals, and everything she believes in, and she feels the weight of the possible consequences any of her actions could have. During her journey, she falls for Ben, who has been trying to escape the carnival life for years. I love how they slowly open up to each other, and I appreciated the realistic dilemmas both are in, especially when it comes to the curse.

With a gorgeous setting, a sweet romance, and a story that demands your attention (no matter what the time on the clock says), BY A CHARM AND A CURSE is a delicious novel for those who know magic can be as dangerous as it can be helpful.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Our Dogs, Ourselves
 
4.7
"Ms. Horowitz is a scientist who studies dogs and who has written several books about dogs and their behavior, including..."
The Beast Player (The Beast Player, #1,2)
 
4.0
"THE BEAST PLAYER is an intriguing YA fantasy read that felt like a coming-of-age story. Elin was ten years old..."
I Wish I Was a Polar Bear
 
4.3
"Did you know that polar bear adults live alone? Or that the only enemies polar bears have are other polar..."
We Love Animals: Two Books in One!
 
5.0
"WE LOVE ANIMALS is a fun, interactive way for children to learn about the different habitats that animals live in...."
Elephants
 
4.3
"ELEPHANTS contains the truth people may not know about elephants. There are facts about how they live, eat, and so..."
Lovely Beasts
 
5.0
"LOVELY BEASTS teaches that animals you may believe to be scary, are actually not so bad and that there's so..."
Who Would Win?: Battle Royale
 
5.0
"WHO WOULD WIN?: BATTLE ROYALE includes five books in one. It has the Killer Whale vs. the Great White Shark,..."
The Berenstain Bears and the Ducklings (I Can Read Level 1)
 
5.0
"BERENSTAIN BEARS AND THE DUCKLINGS is an adorable read that is perfect for early readers learning to read and for..."
Fly Guy's Big Family (Fly Guy #17)
 
5.0
"Buzz wants to play, but Fly Guy is downcast and drawing pictures of his family. Buzz decides to host a..."
 
4.3
"What an enthralling little book this is! Growing up, I didn’t read too much non-fiction because I didn’t have access..."
The Bees
 
3.7
"There is so much to say about The Bees: A novel. It is not a remake of " A Bug's..."
Beneath the Sun
 
4.3
"Although I think this book suffers from the lack of a good cover, what is inside is definitely worth reading..."