Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2797
This Uncommon Retelling Packs A Punch
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
An adventurous, accessible YA fantasy—with likely appeal for fans of An Ember In The Ashes.

Based loosely on an Arabic folktale called The False Prince, this stand-alone book centers on the kingdom of Akram—with interwoven references to the kingdoms and characters from The Shadow Queen and The Wish Granter. Redwine’s prose shows notable development in this 3rd installment of her retold fairytale series. The Traitor Prince offers three 3rd person POVs, and a primarily male POV for the first 4th of the book—which is a structural departure from the more evenly alternating POVs of her previous works. But like her previous books there is an underlying theme of redemption, and of broken people finding healing in unexpected places.

“Fear in. Courage out.”

Javan is an overachieving honor-bound prince, who’s dedication to his mother’s dying wish has made him a perpetual stick-in-the-mud at the boarding school he’s been attending for the last decade of his young life. He’s naive and idealistic to a fault—and so unprepared when the conniving of others results in the loss of his identity and freedom. Unfortunately for him, the learning curve in Maqbara prison is incredibly steep—and being a quick study isn’t enough to insure his survival in their gladiator-style arena. He’ll need to secure trustworthy friends and allies. A skill he -hadn’t- been focusing on in school…

Sajda is, hands down, my favorite of Redwine’s heroines thus far. She’s steely, fierce, crafty, competent, and intensely powerful. She’s also deeply wounded, lonely, and afraid of her own nature. An abused young woman who hasn’t known freedom since her own mother sold her into slavery when she was five years old. Though her POV doesn’t enter until around page 90, she ends up being the character who shows the greatest degree of growth and development.

For those who prefer a slow burn romance, the progression in this story is pleasingly gradual. And it starts from a dismally low place of aggravation-at-first-sight. The eventual chemistry is very much believable—both sparked and fueled by a mutual competitiveness and unfaltering respect. Survival takes reasonable precedence well above relational progression, but after a certain point, also drives the tension.

As for the worldbuilding, I would have liked to see a little more explanation concerning the Dark Elves and their apparent history of oppressing humanity. I also would have preferred to know more about The Warden’s relationship with the people of Akram. Her nature seems to be openly known, but we aren’t told how she came to reside outside of her own people or how common it is for this to occur. The audacious hypocrisy in her treatment and regard for Sajda was something I kept expecting someone to point out. (i.e. every time she referred to Sajda as a monster, I had the urge to laugh hysterically.)

“Power is neither good nor evil. … It's what people do with power that matters.”

There were actually four prominent villains in this book: The Warden, a prisoner named Hashim, Rahim (the imposter prince)… and the one who conceived of putting him in power (who I won’t name out of spoiler concerns.) But of these villains, we are only given Rahim’s perspective—which is cunningly determined, but single-minded. His motives seem too simplistic at times. Yes, he grew up in obscure poverty as the bastard son of a royal… but surly that wasn’t enough to make him turn evil. (Ari, from the previous Ravenspire book, actually came from a similar background. And she is, frankly, delightful.) Rahim doesn’t seem to consider the mother he left behind when he began his schemes—nor is he at all interested in any justice on her behalf—so perhaps her influence on him was negative. Readers simply aren’t provided with that depth of insight.

This story does include an enriching faith element—which is incredibly rare to find in mainstream YA. While Javan’s belief system isn’t explained in great detail, the significance and motivation it holds for him is portrayed with an unmistakable air of authenticity. It even has its own arc, as Javan must wrestle with his beliefs about justice and the nature of his god while he endures a grave injustice—his prayers seemingly going unanswered.

All told, an enjoyable read with a lot of heart.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....
Wintercake
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This cozy, gently humorous, and irresistible holiday tale from Newbery...
Roar Like a Dandelion
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Ruth Krauss, the celebrated children’s book author of The...
The Bear and the Star
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
In this universal celebration of community and love, Bear gathers...
I Do Not Like That Name
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This funny picture book about friendship, family, identity, and why...

Latest Member Reviews

Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
Coral
 
3.0
"CORAL is not a fairytale retelling of THE LITTLE MERMAID- while it may have been inspired by some of the..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
The Last Hope
 
4.7
"I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after..."
 
4.0
"Most books about a school shooting would start with the horrific event at the center of story, but EVERY MOMENT..."
The Bone Houses
 
5.0
"THE BONE HOUSES is a beautifully crafted and full engrossing YA fantasy with some horror aspects. Aderyn (Ryn) is a..."
The Silence Between Us
 
4.7
"THE SILENCE BETWEEN US is an #ownvoices story about Maya, a senior in high school who has just moved with..."
Beasts of the Frozen Sun
 
4.7
"BEASTS OF THE FROZEN SUN features lush world-building, compelling characters, and a captivating plot that make it an engrossing read...."
Snow & Rose
 
5.0
"NOTE: Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own."
Where I End and You Begin
 
4.0
"All Ezra wants to do is ask his crush Imogen to the prom. But when he and his friend Holden..."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
"When Edie moves back to Mansfield to life with her aunt, uncle, and two cousins, she is reunited with her..."
The Beholder
 
4.0
"When Selah's proposal to her childhood crush is rejected, she is sent away on a boat to meet possible suitors...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
Gods of Jade and Shadow
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Casiopea feels trapped in her rich grandfather’s home in southern Mexico. She wants to leave their small town and..."
 
3.0
"THE HIVE by Barry Lyga and Morgan Baden is a YA sci-fi novel set in the near future. In this..."
Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."