Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1517
Many Cute Short Stories
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I admit that I’m not a big anthology fan. I find the stories in them are hit and miss. ‘My True Love Gave to Me’ was a choice for one of my on-line book clubs. I thought it would help me to get into the holiday spirit and to acquaint me with some new authors. I’m really late putting up this review but I loved many of the stories and wanted to talk about which ones I loved and which one I didn’t love.

Midnight: Rainbow Rowell
This story features Noël and Mags and their growing relationship every New Years from 2011-2014. I really liked this one. The premise of just having snippets of a character’s life for several years really made the story enrolling. It was fun piecing together what was going on in the characters life the rest of the year. 4/5 Stars

The Lady and the Fox: Kelly Link
This tells about Miranda’s relationship, over several Christmases, with a strange man who appears and disappears. This one left me really confused. I could not figure out what was going on. I thought the stranger was a Santa type man but turned out he wasn’t and he seemed really creepy to me. I didn’t like the magical realism aspect of the story. The only part I liked was the description of the detailing of the fox and lady on the stranger’s coat. 2/5 Stars

Angels in the Snow: Matt De La Pena
Shy (this is the main character’s name) pet sits for his boss during Christmas vacation. Shy meets one of the neighbors, Haley. I really liked this one. The story-line just rang so true to life to me. Reminded me of the crazy stuff that goes on at college.5/5 Stars

Polaris is Where You Left Me: Jenny Han
Natty is Santa’s Adopted Daughter. Natty struggles to fit in with the elvis in Santa’s work shop. This was a cute story. Did not blow me away or anything. This read more like a kid’s story to me. 3.5/5 Stars

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown: Stephanie Perkins
Marigold buys a Christmas tree at a tree lot near her home. There she meets, North, a worker at the Christmas tree lot. North helps Marigold bring her tree up to her apartment. I really like this one. I can see something this happening to me.
5/5 Stars

Your Temporary Santa: David Leviathan A young man dresses up as Santa to surprise his boyfriend’s little sister. I liked the premise of the story. Someone dressing up as Santa to surprise a child makes a sweet story. For some reason the execution just fell flat for me. 3/5

Krampuslauf: Holly Black
A girl decides to throw a New Year’s party at her deceased grandmother’s trailer.
What just happened here? I loved the premise but the magical realism just ruined it for me.
2.5/5

What the Hell Have You Done, Sofie Roth: Gail Forman
A Jewish college student attends Christmas caroling and makes a new friend. Cute story. Very romantic and funny. Rings true about how those that don’t celebrate Christmas often feel left out. Not my favorite but loved the characters. 4/5

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus: Myra McIntire
A Church has to hold their annual Christmas pageant at another venue when their barn burns down. This should have been funny but I just didn’t buy the whole wacky story and the romance seemed really forced. Seemed like a John Green trope. 2.5/5

Welcome to Christmas, CA: Kiersten White
A girl works at a Christmas themed restaurant in a town called Christmas. She is doing her best to get accepted to college and to get out-of-town. Than enter Ben, the new cook at the restaurant. I loved the story. The characters were very relatable. I live near Christmas, Florida so I totally got the cheesiness of the restaurant and the town. 5/5

Star of Bethlehem: Ally Carter
A girl exchanges destinations with a desperate girl at an airport .
I really didn’t like the premise. It’s all based on two girls switching flights at the last-minute. This seems really far-fetched in this day and age. Just not for me. 2/5

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer: Laini Taylor
A fantasy story centered around Neve who is struggling with her bleak life.
Loved the world that was created here. The ending just weird. 3/5
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites,...
Ember of Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
I am a weed. Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good...
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the...
Havoc (Haven, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the first time in his life, Rain Ryland...
Finding Junie Kim
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Junie Kim just wants to fit in. So she keeps...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Speak enters the world of Gossip Girl in this modern...
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jaret Bachmann travels with his family to his beloved...
Sister of the Bollywood Bride
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Morgan Matson's Save the Date comes a...
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a...
Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...

Latest Member Reviews

We Are Still Tornadoes
 
5.0
""We are Still Tornadoes" is an incredible insta-favorite! I am absolutely gushing about how much I loved this book! This..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes tells the story of Cath and Scott, who have both graduated from high school and are..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes is a cute story about long distance friendship, college life, life in general, '80s music,..."
One Paris Summer
 
4.0
"Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"I was a bit nervous going into this book. The fact that it was so blatant that Regan was a..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"This book caught me unaware (no pun intended), which is one of the reasons I highly recommend picking up a..."