Review Detail

The perfect witch book
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
THE KING OF BONES AND ASHES is a story set around three witches living in New Orleans, as magic fades from the world these three witches find their fate tied to one another. Alice the youngest of the Marin group who has been locked away in an asylum for witches her entire life, Lisette who took over running her mother’s Voodoo shop Veve after her death even though she herself no longer believes, and Evangeline who is tied to the Marin family in very complicated ways. Connected through the magic Alice, Lisette, and Evangeline will need to learn the truth about magic, the grimoire and the secrets everyone seems to be keeping.


What I liked:

This story is definitely a slow build, it focuses a great deal on the setting of New Orleans, and really fleshing out the characters more so than the action. Which as someone who loves action I sorely missed that, but I did like that it spent a lot of time really getting into the characters background and their families. It really helped to understand certain dynamics and the way the witches community worked and was set up. Out of the three characters Alice was probably last on my list of favorites. She was a great character and I would definitely love to see more of her, but we don’t get to spend a whole lot of time with her in this book. I mean that ending definitely set her up for some really interesting things to come. Then there is Lisette and Evangeline who I really really enjoyed. They both had such interesting storylines and I loved the way they kept being tied together with certain characters or storylines. I think both of them added a lot to the story, I became so invested in these two characters and I that’s what had me turning the pages.

Another thing I enjoyed was the magic and it’s so different from what I’m used to reading in books about witches. One of the big things is that it isn’t one type of magic. Everyone has their magic but it’s used and practiced in different ways. J.D. doesn’t go into a whole lot about the way the magic system is set up but I like that the reader is left to imagining the possibilities of what these witches can do. I also really loved that each of our three witches was how they all used their magic in varying ways, how theirs wasn’t the same as the others, and how different their outlooks were. I really do hope we get to see more magic sort of work it’s way into the sequel. I would love to know what these characters can do and how powerful they are.

There are a couple things that I had a bit of a problem with, one being that a couple of parts in this story were a bit confusing. They were hard to follow and I had to go back and reread them to understand what was going on. The last thing I had a problem with was that the chapters didn’t have a clear name as a header and it was sometimes hard to distinguish who was speaking. Of course, both of these things didn’t take away from the enjoyment of this book, they were minor problems that were easy to get around. Overall this book was a slow start for me but came in with a strong finish. It was a rich world with a great setting that really added to the overall gothic feeling that the book was going for. If you love witches and a dark twisted plot I would definitely recommend picking this one up. I am interested to see where this story goes and see each character grow in the sequel.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Starfell: Willow Moss & the Lost Day (Starfell, #1)
 
4.0
"STARFELL is a charming and magic-filled middle grade fantasy that sweeps young readers away into another world. Willow Moss seemed..."
Journey of the Pale Bear
 
5.0
"What an adventure I just had! From the moment, I opened the book, I was transported to the 13th century..."
Hey Grandude!
 
4.5
"'Hey Grandude!' by Paul McCartney, illustrated by Kathryn Durst, is a fun, colorful, and exciting adventure. The illustrations enhance the..."
The Peacock Detectives
 
4.0
"THE PEACOCK DETECTIVES is a story told by a young narrator, who is in Grade 6 but reads at a..."
Big Nate: Back to Back Hits: On a Roll and Goes for Broke
 
5.0
"This is a combination of two Big Nate novels; Big Nate on a Roll and Big Nate Goes For Broke...."