Review Detail

The Wolf Hour Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1467
The Wolf Hour
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
THE WOLF HOUR by Sara Lewis Holmes is both a fairytale retelling and something new entirely. The book focuses on Magia, a young girl who wants to be a woodcutter like her father. Unfortunately for her, the forest is a dangerous place that has wolves and Stories, and once anyone gets stuck in a Story, they’re stuck indefinitely. The witch in town has much to gain from these Stories playing out exactly as they should. However, when Magia finds herself caught in one that drastically impacts her family, she will do whatever it takes to escape the old woman’s powerful clutches.

Many often wonder why certain fables have endured the test of time. Holmes’ answer is much darker than one could have ever imagined. The way she incorporates The Three Little Pigs and Little Red Riding Hood into her own novel demonstrates her explanatory twist on how these Stories could retain their lives. Somehow though, she creates a special kind of reverence for these old Stories without mocking them or treating them cynically. Instead, she maintains their mythical nature and breathes new life into them with a set of fresh circumstances.

I particularly love that THE WOLF HOUR takes place in a little Polish town. The image of a simple city draped against the backdrop of a vast, snow-covered wood, is beautiful and immediately magical. The use of the Polish language and unfamiliar words also adds a fantastical, otherworldly element. Though Poland is of course a real country and has a real language, it still functions as “a land far, far away,” for most readers of this particular book.

Overall, the plot is a bit slow at times and I would have liked to see even more fables creatively woven in, resulting in more unexpected circumstances and odd characters. With that being said, THE WOLF HOUR is definitely unique and chock-full of childhood nostalgia.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

The Princess Twins and the Birthday Party
 
4.0
"It's Princess Abby and Princess Emma's birthday! As the girls dress up in their fanciest dresses and curl their..."
The Princess Twins and the Tea Party
 
4.0
"Even though I don't have any girls in my household (yet), my boys and I love reading this series about..."
The Princess Twins and the Puppy
 
4.0
"When Abby and Emma lose their puppy, Abby must pray to God to make her brave enough to go down..."
The Princess Twins Play in the Garden
 
4.0
"Princess Abby and Princess Emma are enjoying a day in the garden and celebrating God's creation. Princess Emma has..."