Review Detail

Expelled FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 6895
Expelled
(Updated: September 02, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
EXPELLED is the brainchild of James Patterson and Emily Raymond, in which four teenagers, some guilty, some not, are kicked out of school following odd events. In order to uncover the truth of the incident that abruptly ended his junior year and to prove his innocence, Theo convinces the group to make a documentary film. What Theo ultimately finds will shock him, as the reality of the situation and the reason he was framed are much darker than he could have imagined. The ending of EXPELLED serves up a few moral lessons; everything is not always as it seems and everyone has their own private demons.

This novel is exactly what I would expect from an experienced author like James Patterson. The plot moves along flawlessly and without any gaping holes. The characters are nuanced, interesting, and resourceful. They shift and change over the course of the book, each having his or her own personal arc. Even the dialogue is perfect. The way each character talks is believable, authentic, and most importantly, feels specific to them. Overall, the book on a whole is widely enjoyable and entertaining. It somehow is both dark and lighthearted, fusing both a coming-of age-drama with a whodunit mystery.

Ultimately, I would have loved to see the documentary take on a bigger role in the story. When the idea is first introduced, it seems as though it is going to influence the structure of the book moving forward. Instead, it ends up taking a backseat to most of the action. For me, the student film needs to be more relevant or taken out completely, as the interviews on camera are a bit lackluster and do not seem to advance the plot in a specific way. Because the documentary is not what saves Theo, he could have launched his own investigation without the assistance of a camera and came to the same conclusion.

I also would have liked to see Sasha’s “crime” related to the photo incident, rather than a random event with coincidental timing. In turn, she would have been more bonded to the task of finding the real perpetrator, and it would have made the final result more complicated.

All in all, EXPELLED is a quick and easy read that ebbs and flows in all the right places. It is a great book to read on the beach, the airplane, or a rainy day in bed.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Our Dogs, Ourselves
 
4.7
"Ms. Horowitz is a scientist who studies dogs and who has written several books about dogs and their behavior, including..."
The Beast Player (The Beast Player, #1,2)
 
4.0
"THE BEAST PLAYER is an intriguing YA fantasy read that felt like a coming-of-age story. Elin was ten years old..."
I Wish I Was a Polar Bear
 
4.3
"Did you know that polar bear adults live alone? Or that the only enemies polar bears have are other polar..."
We Love Animals: Two Books in One!
 
5.0
"WE LOVE ANIMALS is a fun, interactive way for children to learn about the different habitats that animals live in...."
Elephants
 
4.3
"ELEPHANTS contains the truth people may not know about elephants. There are facts about how they live, eat, and so..."
Lovely Beasts
 
5.0
"LOVELY BEASTS teaches that animals you may believe to be scary, are actually not so bad and that there's so..."
Who Would Win?: Battle Royale
 
5.0
"WHO WOULD WIN?: BATTLE ROYALE includes five books in one. It has the Killer Whale vs. the Great White Shark,..."
The Berenstain Bears and the Ducklings (I Can Read Level 1)
 
5.0
"BERENSTAIN BEARS AND THE DUCKLINGS is an adorable read that is perfect for early readers learning to read and for..."
Fly Guy's Big Family (Fly Guy #17)
 
5.0
"Buzz wants to play, but Fly Guy is downcast and drawing pictures of his family. Buzz decides to host a..."
 
4.3
"What an enthralling little book this is! Growing up, I didn’t read too much non-fiction because I didn’t have access..."
The Bees
 
3.7
"There is so much to say about The Bees: A novel. It is not a remake of " A Bug's..."
Beneath the Sun
 
4.3
"Although I think this book suffers from the lack of a good cover, what is inside is definitely worth reading..."