Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1252
A cute, diverse read.
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
When Dimple Met Rishi was on my most anticipated list for this year. One of the things I love about YA is the diversity. Whether it's sexual orientation, gender, religion, or ethnicity, I am always looking for different books that have these things. I picked this one based on the Indian heritage and traditions. It didn't disappoint me. I did only give it 4 stars just because it was predictable as most YA romances are.

But it still made me smile. Dimple was such a fun person. I loved her passion and drive. She wasn't going to let tradition get in the way of her happiness and she was spunky. I always love a strong female in books I read. Rishi was just adorable. I will say he got on my nerves a bit when he was so uptight (seriously, how many boys want to talk about sex instead of just having it), but I really liked him. He was sweet and loving. Ashish and Celia were great additions to the story and I ended up really wanting more from both of them.

The story line was interesting with the coding and comics, but I really liked reading about some of the Indian traditions. It's hard growing up in the US and trying to understand how people still think arranged marriages are ok. Or how you don't date until you're much older unless it's arranged. It was nice to read about the ideas from both sides. The girl who wanted to really move away from tradition and become independent and the boy who loved those traditions. I liked how they were able to get each other to see both sides and find ways to honor both. I definitely want to learn more about their customs and traditions now and hope we see more YA books with Indian stories.
Good Points
Diverse
Cute Story
Indian heritage and traditions
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Poison Priestess (Lady Slayers, #2)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
In 17th-century Paris, 19-year-old Catherine Monvoisin is a well-heeled...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years...
Fate Calling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed fae prince. A lonely human lass. A...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Zoe Rosenthal is Not Lawful Good
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A buttoned-up overachiever works overtime to keep her inner...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
The Sky Above Us
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of We Speak in Storms comes...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found