Review Detail

How to Disappear Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2501
Truthfully beautiful
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I am so absolutely in love with Sharon Huss Roat. Her books are funny, relatable, and so easily devoured. I read HOW TO DISAPPEAR in a day and a half, I just couldn’t put it down. Everything about this story was so beautiful, from the love interest to Vicky’s mother to Vicky herself. This was a character I adored and could see parts of myself in. Vicky is a young girl who has severe social anxiety, which I think is something a lot of teens and adults alike will relate with. In a desperate moment, Vicky creates a fake Instagram account photoshopping herself into places she wishes she was brave enough to go. Like Ellen, a spaceship with Neil deGrasse Tyson, riding a hippogryph, etc. Soon her small account starts to go viral. People begin to share and like and comment and Vicky’s fear of being seen starts to become all too real, but under that, she begins to feel like maybe she isn’t alone in how she feels.

There were a lot of things I feel like Roat just nailed with this book. The feeling of loneliness that goes through a lot of people, the use of technology for good, and the relationship dynamics. The relationship with Vicky and her mom is one we don’t get to see too often in YA. Vicky’s mom wants the best for her and Vicky wants to make her mom proud, but she can’t help but feel she’s disappointing her. My favorite scene is where they sit and talk to each other, Vicky makes it clear how she feels and her mother listens. There is no judgment no harsh word, just understanding, and acceptance. It’s clear Vicky’s mom doesn’t understand what she’s going through, but that she loves her and she will support her no matter what. It’s apparent that Roat has a very beautiful understanding of parent/child relationships.

Technology was another thing in this book that I was amazed by. It wasn’t seen as bad or a problem, it was seen as something that can be used for good or fun or a way to connect to those who felt alone or far away. Vicky’s Instagram really uses the message of hope and connection and I love that she used it to reach out to those who were scared or alone. And she didn’t do it alone. Kids at her school and all across the globe took her messages and put them to work in the real world as well as online. They reached out and they helped. I loved how beautiful this book was and how hopeful. It used technology and online relationships to bring to light something that I think a lot of us feel. With the message of you are not alone and don’t be afraid to ask for help. Sometimes we feel alone and lost and scared and I loved how effortlessly and delicately Roat approached this subject and others.

There really are no words I could use that would accurately describe how much this book meant to me and how beautiful it was. It was funny and cute and deep and sad and breathtaking. Roat does an amazing job of capturing what it is to be a teen and one of the many benefits of technology. One thing I do want to mention is there is a bit towards the end about suicide (just talk) but it’s there. Overall I think this is a book many many teens and adults should read. It’s so beautiful in its accuracy and its one that will bring you to tears and make you laugh at the same time. Also if you liked Dear Evan Hansen you will definitely love this book.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."