Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1528
Full of heart and humor
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
THE GENTLEMAN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE follows Henry “Monty” Montague as he takes his grand tour across Europe with his sister Felicity and his best mate (I love that word) Percy. After a reckless choice by Henry their grand tour turns into a terrifying manhunt and Monty begins to question everything in his life.

I am absolutely hopelessly in love with The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. It’s funny and witty and filled with amazing sights and characters. Monty and Percy are both characters I don’t read often enough. Monty especially was a character who was so flawed and kept making a mess of things, but ultimately was just trying to figure out what he wanted and where he fits in this life. Then there’s Percy, his best friend, and boy he's been in love with since the very beginning is his complete opposite. He’s quite and dignified, where Monty is outspoken and a rake. Then there’s Felicity who is smart as a whip and would rather attend university than go learn about becoming a proper young woman. I loved her most of all. I felt a very deep kinship to Felicity that I think a lot of girls reading this will feel. I also got the feeling from certain parts in this book, that Felicity identifies as asexual (which really hits home for me) and if that is the case I really hope we go into it more in her book. Oh in case you didn’t know Lee is writing a compANION NOVEL IN FELICITY’S POINT OF VEIW. I can’t wait to see from Felicity’s POV.

One of the best things about this novel was Monty’s character development. He starts out this book as a thoughtless, flirts with anything that moves, drinking gambling rake of a young man to a thoughtful more conscientious one who works hard to understand the feelings of those around him. Lee does such an amazing job of really fleshing out these characters. Giving them voices that felt authentic and fresh. And the relationship Monty begins to have with his younger, annoying sister Felicity is one of my favorites. They care for each other even if they are bickering and fighting constantly.

You can tell Mackenzi really put her time and effort into making this historically accurate while adding interesting facts about lady pirates and women who didn’t follow the norm of that time period. I loved that she found ways to work those into her book. This book overall had me feeling so content. It’s so hard to explain a feeling, but it’s as if Lee took a rainy day, cozy in your bed with a cup of cocoa and a good book and formed it into a book. It’s the beauty of this book with characters who make you fall in love and laugh out loud, and character development that blows you away. I want more books like this. More books that get to the heart of you with boys who are delicate and beautiful and girls who are strong and dedicated. I want more of that, more books that give me that cozy feeling inside. There was no one thing about this book that caused it, it was everything together. The adventure, the love, the growth everything worked so well to create this beautiful story that lived up to every bit of hype surrounding it.

One thing I do want to mention is that there is abuse from the father. It doesn’t get graphic but it does talk about and have flashbacks of it and I wanted to mention it in case anyone has a hard time with that. Other than that this book is lovely and so worth the read. So run don’t walk to your library/bookstore and pick this book up because I can not recommend or tell you how much I loved this story. It’s everything I look for in a book and is perfect for those who love a good adventure/love story.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Heart and Shadow
 
3.7
"Heart and Shadow includes the two stories of the Valkyrie Duology. The story is an urban fantasy that mixes Norse..."
The Tiger at Midnight (The Tiger at Midnight, #1)
 
4.3
"THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT is a lush YA fantasy that follows two primary characters in alternating points-of-view. Esha is known..."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.3
" My only complaint is that the fight scenes were a bit confusing and at times too short. I would..."
City of Dust
 
4.3
"City of Dust is the follow up to Book of Fire which for me was the perfect blend of history,..."
Muse of Nightmares
 
5.0
"I honestly didn't think any book could top Strange the Dreamer, it was such a fantastic start to a new..."
Muse of Nightmares
 
5.0
"Reading a Laini Taylor book is always such an experience. I fell in love with her Daughter of Smoke and..."
A Touch of Gold
 
4.0
"When I read the synopsis for this book I was immediately intrigued. I love retellings and this book seemed right..."
Sky in the Deep
 
4.7
"What worked: This is a highly engaging historical tale of a teen warrior who is taken by a rival clan..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"If you’re looking for an action-packed novel with a fierce female main character who is multifaceted, and the text is..."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"No comment."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"Great strong woman character in Eelyn, I couldn't get enough of this book!"
The Hidden Oracle (Trials of Apollo #1)
 
1.0
"I have always been a Rick Riordan fan, but am tired of reading the same things over and over again...."
Sky in the Deep
 
5.0
"Riki and Aska are two clans that are fated to fight for following different gods. The Aska believe in Sigr..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
4.3
"When Leigh Bardugo and Wonder Woman collide, I expect great things. This was the first book release of the four..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"I finally got a chance to sit down and read this one and I was not disappointed. It definitely..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
5.0
"Wonder Woman: Warbringer is as wonderful and fierce as you'd expect coming from the amazing creator of the Grisha universe...."
The Monstrous Child
 
3.3
"THIS MONSTROUS CHILD is about how Hel, a young teenage girl came to rule the underworld and how she and..."
Omega (Omega #1)
 
4.0
" Omega is an addictive, engaging adventure that effortlessly combines fantasy, greek mythology, and dystopia. Not only does our MC..."
The Blood of Olympus (Heroes of Olympus #5)
 
4.0
"4.4 stars! Another great series by Rick Riordan! A great plot where Greek and Roman mythology intertwine. I loved the..."