Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1589
An unforgettable installment in a mystery series
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but she’s in as much danger as ever. Political parties are clashing, some turning from very conservative to something darker, something much more extreme that puts people like Ang and many others in fear for their lives. Not to mention, refugees are giving their all to escape their war plagued country, but certain politicans will do whatever it takes to keep them out of the city. Ang must pose as one of the elite, fight old and new enemies, and navigate her own conflicting place in a dangerous world.

While Steeplejack had plenty of action, political intrigue, and mystery, Firebrand turns everything up by approximately 5 notches. Though this is an alternate history set in South Africa, it’s impossible to miss the parallels Hartley makes with contemporary world politics (and brilliantly so). This series is from Ang’s perspective, but I love how we see so many unique secondary characters ranging from inspectors to parliament members to governesses and more. Firebrand has one of the most complex and relevant settings I’ve read, and with each page, you’ll find yourself sinking deeper and deeper into the mystery plot.

As this is a series, Ang’s character arc was less arc-like and more building. She’s in a strange place, no longer welcome in a place she used to dwell, no longer part of the steeplejacks, but not part of any other class either. She finds herself facing tougher challenges, ones that make her question exactly who she is at heart. I can’t wait for the next book to see how her character develops more.

Told with a clear voice, emotional intensity, and heart-racing political plots that reveal the best and worst of humanity, FIREBRAND is an unforgettable installment in a mystery series that is sure to capture hearts.

Review also post at The Forest of Words and Pages: http://www.forestofwordsandpages.com/2017/06/blog-tour-firebrand-j-hartley-giveaway/
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
DA Dragon Authors
"The Inexplicable Logic of My Life is a brilliant story of youth at an end, adulthood on the horizon, the..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
"Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s newest novel is an endearing story about the different types of families and what it means to..."
Aviary Wonders Inc.
 
4.0
"This "picture book" was not quite what I was expecting. It was much more enjoyable and wondrous. This is..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
4.0
"I think I love Irish mythology more than Greek mythology. It's beautiful, it really is. Teagan, Finn, Aiden, and..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
5.0
"I am such a huge fan of witches. I know I say this all the time in reviews, but seriously,..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
5.0
"I fell in love with Tyger, Tyger (review here) back when I first started this blog. Kersten Hamilton approached me..."
Once A Witch
 
4.3
"I just devoured this novel from the first page, which is set in a bookstore by the way (what's not..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
4.7
"Before reading the review, be warned that this is the second in a series and you shouldn't read on unless..."
Also Known As Rowan Pohi
 
2.3
" It took me a while to get into this brief novel. Honestly, I was not amused by the antics..."
Chronal Engine
 
3.0
"When their mother gets a prestigious job on a far-flung archaeological dig, Emma, Max and Kyle have to go live..."
Once A Witch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Yiling I LOVED this book. I first heard about it when the author, Carolyn MacCullough visited my..."