Review Detail

All Things New Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2764
Healthful and Hopeful
(Updated: June 15, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
An enthralling and vital YA read—boldly tackling issues of mental and relational health within a compelling narrative.

Jessa Gray has been broken on the inside ever since her parent’s divorce, when her father moved several states away and her mother quickly remarried. While her mother was busy with her new family, Jessa fell into a crippling anxiety disorder that cost her all social relationships—all except for the boyfriend crutch she thought she could lean on. When that crutch fails and she ends up in a horrific car accident, her brokenness suddenly extends to a newly scarred face and a brain injury that induces something called aphantasia(mind’s-eye blindness.) Along with something else… something she’s afraid might mean she’s crazy.
So when her father offers to move her from California to Colorado for a fresh start, Jessa accepts—unable and unwilling to return to the life she’s lost.

I readily admit that first-person present-tense is among my least-favorite in terms of storytelling methods. And yet, I can't recall the last time a contemporary flew by so well for me. Almost 80 pages in, I felt like I’d just started. The content is weighty without feeling weighed down (which is quite the accomplishment.) And while Jessa’s looping introspection and avoidance is often frustrating, it’s also believable. I wouldn't call it fast-paced, so much as fluid and effortless reading.

”It registers that I am sitting there topless, but this body I am in doesn't feel like mine anymore so the half-nakedness seems irrelevant, like a rumor, something I'm supposed to care about but don't.”

I hadn't heard of aphantasia before this book. Which was surprising, given my medical background. It was also a welcome learning opportunity. Aphantasia was first written about over a hundred years ago, and apparently exists in 2% of the population—meaning 1 in 50 people may experience it, temporarily or permanently. (Many don't even realize they have it, if they acquired in congenitally.) This reader found it both fascinating and kind of horrible; the idea of being able to recognize people and things in front of you, but not being able to picture them--or picture anything at all--when you close your eyes.

Marshall was my favorite part of this story.
Flying in the chiseled face of every brooding alpha-male bad-boy stereotype, Marshall is a charmingly upbeat and extroverted love interest. He’s funny, sharp-witted, keenly observant, and prefers sitting at the autism-spectrum table to mingling with his more mundane peers. He’s also a somewhat concerning heart patient, who has perhaps allowed physical limitations too much license in his identity. I adored him—and his reliable banter with all those around him.

"I nod seriously, "Supes."
"You're mocking me."
"A little bit."
"People say supes!"
"What people?"
"I can't believe you're shaming me right now. I'm very sensitive about my use of cool vernacular."
"Then we're good. Because you haven't used any." I flash a grin.

If I have one complaint about this book, it’s that there isn’t enough Marshall. He isn’t introduced until page 85. Not that it’s a slog to get to that point, but once he joins the cast, he effectively steals the spotlight in every scene he’s in. While this particular story is clearly about Jessa, it’s a pity we couldn’t have a bit of Marshall’s perspective as well. (A little more focus on the romance would have likely sufficed for me.)

Content Note: The book contains some mild language some may find objectionable, and there are some naturally-developing spirituality threads that may be off-putting for those with low-to-no tolerance for the realistic portrayal of characters with spiritual lives. (I personally found it all gradual, organic, and well-incorporated—inclusive, yet mercifully devoid of preachiness.)

All Things New encompasses themes of heartbreak, empathy, invisible illnesses, familial forgiveness, positive and negative coping mechanisms, neuro-atypical understanding, and above all, hope. I can honestly say I look forward to getting it into the hands of my goddaughters.

Favorite Quotes:

“Brokenness is just like beauty; it's something we wear and carry, and if we let it define us, it will. But we are not our beauty or our brokenness, because souls are not made of beauty or brokenness. Souls are made of something permanent.
Souls are made of truth.”

"Someday those bruises inside you will heal. You can't know when someday will come, or what life will look like when it finally does. ... But in a way it doesn't even matter because someday isn't what we have. What we have is right now, this moment, when things aren't okay yet, but in a way they are already, because in the end they will be, and as long as that's true, it's enough."
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Dream Catchers
 
1.0
"t This book was a complete waste of paper. It had some interesting points but, it had no plot. It..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jaxon I read this book on a camping vacation with my family. We took turns reading aloud one..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by raya The "Long Tall Texan" was blown to bits in a sparkling blue lagoon & that's just..."
Curse of the Stolen Cross
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Nicky Thomas I loved this story about 2 brother left on a deserted island as they grow..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Linda Welch Many a year has passed since I was a 14 year old year girl so..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Val What a great children's book. Fairies Ice Cove Mountain is simply a fascinating and exciting...."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Natalie H. Sandy Lo is not to be overlooked, she certainly has earned her spot in the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Writers' Digest &.I have seen first hand how many students fall through the public-school cracks and the..."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Rafael Rodriguez This book is a most read book for all. I truly recommend it, and Mr...."
Never Too Late to Make a U-Turn: An Educational Pledge & 15 Questions to Self-Development
 
1.0
"Reader reviewed by Tita Negron Tita: I am pleased to have your presence, Mr. Cappas. Thank you for..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ohndrea I loved your book! I especially loved the part where Norman found out that he could..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by maddie Your book was very interesting. I love the creativity you put into your work. I loved..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Keegan Holle The book was amazing! It was funny and realistic at the same time. The characters..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Alex I thought that the book was good. Although..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Gabriel As I had first been reading the book my mind was thinking, "What kind of dumb..."
Norman & The Stinking Space Goo
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Abby This book is a great book for little kids that is humorous. It is very interesting..."
Oh la la! (French Manicure #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru Does Prince Charming really exist?&Who knows? Maybe he..."
An Unofficial History of Disney's Haunted Mansion
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa Feller, POD Princess & Graphic Novel Guru When hinges creek, in doorless chambers, and strange and..."
A Home for Amanda Romero
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vanessa Amanda Romero has always dreamed of having a room of her own. But in order to..."
A Rumor of Dragons
 
5.0
A2 Amber, 2007 Teen Demi-Goddess
"A Rumor of Dragons is the first book in an innovative new fantasy series by Michael Heald. Marc..."