Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2619
a good intro about being a Filipino Immigrant
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Happy Philippine Independence Day!

This is the reason why I picked up this book. June 12 is the day of our Independence. And I thought this would be a good way to celebrate: by reading a book by a Fil-Am author about an immigrant girl.

I was quite wary in reading this because it was published 2004 or 2005. And since it is a "contemporary" book, maybe it's not as contemporary as it is for 2017. But I was wrong apparently! This book actually has depth in it despite the main character. It actually talks about culture, adjustment to new life, being an immigrant, and change.

Speaking of main characters, V is fourteen years old. So I had to channel my fourteen-year-old-self when I was reading it. And guess what. V and I actually have a lot in common! One significant thing for sure was being boy crazy. I was as bad as her when it comes to boys. And that's the thing. Even though the narrator is a Filipino immigrant, you'll still find something in common with her because everybody knows how to feel in love and looking for that first love.

I actually like a lot of this book. I like the friendship that she built in here. Because I for one know how hard it is being an immigrant and all that stuff. I think it was a genuine friendship and that was really cool. The family aspect is also amazing. Family is very important in the Philippine culture. All the quirks, traditions, the small itty bitty details just immerse me in familiarity because that's how I am with my family too.

Personally, the author's examples and explanations of how Manila and the Filipino people are actually on point. For someone who doesn't know anything about the Philippines, the glimpses given here are a good way to have an idea about Manila. But just Manila not the entirety of the country.

Like I said, there was actual depth in this. A teen or a tween will, in my opinion, would learn something from this and I really like that.

This is a really good book, but it was quite dragging. There's just some stuff that I thought was overly explained.

Really good book. And I'm so happy Melissa de la Cruz gave us a voice.
Good Points
~ glimpses about Manila and the Philippine culture
~ the Filipino traditions are on point
~ more depth to it than I expected
~ contains a plot twist
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein
 
4.0
"The most amazing thing about classic horror stories is how they still influence many writers today. To read 'the..."
A Conspiracy of Stars
 
4.3
"Feedback First thing first - what a world! This is a brand new planet that Cole had created and..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"I have loved all the books in the gone series and this one is no exception. Kept me entertained until..."
Monster (Gone #7)
 
4.7
"Let me start by saying that while this is the seventh (yes, seventh!) book in a series, I haven't ever..."
Apex (Hunter Series #3)
 
5.0
"APEX is the epic, action-packed finale to the Hunter Series. Joy is now a member of the Elite Hunter Command..."
Our Dark Duet
 
5.0
"Oh my. I don't even know what to say about this book and how much I loved it. I wanted..."
The Monstrous Child
 
3.3
"THIS MONSTROUS CHILD is about how Hel, a young teenage girl came to rule the underworld and how she and..."
Dark Army, The (The Starblade Chronicles #2)
 
4.7
"**Spoiler Alert** Because of the nature of A New Darkness, which includes a plot twist that has made me and..."