Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2749
a good intro about being a Filipino Immigrant
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Happy Philippine Independence Day!

This is the reason why I picked up this book. June 12 is the day of our Independence. And I thought this would be a good way to celebrate: by reading a book by a Fil-Am author about an immigrant girl.

I was quite wary in reading this because it was published 2004 or 2005. And since it is a "contemporary" book, maybe it's not as contemporary as it is for 2017. But I was wrong apparently! This book actually has depth in it despite the main character. It actually talks about culture, adjustment to new life, being an immigrant, and change.

Speaking of main characters, V is fourteen years old. So I had to channel my fourteen-year-old-self when I was reading it. And guess what. V and I actually have a lot in common! One significant thing for sure was being boy crazy. I was as bad as her when it comes to boys. And that's the thing. Even though the narrator is a Filipino immigrant, you'll still find something in common with her because everybody knows how to feel in love and looking for that first love.

I actually like a lot of this book. I like the friendship that she built in here. Because I for one know how hard it is being an immigrant and all that stuff. I think it was a genuine friendship and that was really cool. The family aspect is also amazing. Family is very important in the Philippine culture. All the quirks, traditions, the small itty bitty details just immerse me in familiarity because that's how I am with my family too.

Personally, the author's examples and explanations of how Manila and the Filipino people are actually on point. For someone who doesn't know anything about the Philippines, the glimpses given here are a good way to have an idea about Manila. But just Manila not the entirety of the country.

Like I said, there was actual depth in this. A teen or a tween will, in my opinion, would learn something from this and I really like that.

This is a really good book, but it was quite dragging. There's just some stuff that I thought was overly explained.

Really good book. And I'm so happy Melissa de la Cruz gave us a voice.
Good Points
~ glimpses about Manila and the Philippine culture
~ the Filipino traditions are on point
~ more depth to it than I expected
~ contains a plot twist
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Elevator Bird
 
5.0
"ELEVATOR BIRD is a cute picture book about making your friends' dreams come true. Elevator Bird is an essential part..."
Arlo the Lion Who Couldn't Sleep
 
5.0
"Arlo tries so hard to fall asleep, but he just can't get comfortable. The ground is too hard, the nights..."
Becoming a Good Creature
 
4.0
"Sy Montgomery and Rebecca Green join forces to create a picture book version of the memoir/nature study, How to Be..."
Jasmine Green Rescues: A Kitten Called Holly (#4)
 
4.5
"When a barn cat has babies, Jasmine and Tom are surprised to find them. They've scared the mother, and she..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Let's Find the Kitten
 
5.0
"LET'S FIND THE KITTEN is a cute hide-and-seek, lift-the-flap board book. Kitten is hiding, but we don't know where. As..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Owl Always Love You
 
5.0
"OWL ALWAYS LOVE YOU is a sweet board book that is made for bedtime. It is a sweet poem about..."
Making Tracks: Desert
 
5.0
"MAKING TRACKS: DESERT is a clever and fun exploration of footprints and desert animals. This book board features animal prints..."
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
"DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs..."
Room on the Broom Push-Pull-Slide
 
5.0
"ROOM ON THE BROOM PUSH-PULL-SLIDE is a delightfully interactive board book sure to enchant toddlers and preschoolers. A witch is..."
Wild Week
 
4.0
"WILD WEEK is a cute board book that features an animal on each day of the week, doing something in..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."