Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1468
Amazing Addition to the Series!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
You don't expect science fiction to have you rolling in laughter.

The story:
Let's face it, the Retreat left us a little bit broken. That ending was ... hard. It seemed like everything they'd done had been for nothing being Romy ended up right back where she started. That's where The Return picks up. Romy is not who she used to be. She's been back in space for a while and can't remember any of the people she left back on her - not even her knot. So when they come for her and smuggle her back to earth, things get a little crazy. By things, I mean Romy. Her slowly returning memories seem to conflict with everything she thinks she knows. Her personality swings from one extreme to the other. As she fights to regain herself, she could lose everything else.
Throw in the betrayal from people she loves an awkwardness with the man who loves her, and the impending destruction of pretty much everything and you have yourself a wild ride.

What I loved: Can I just say words. All of them. Science fiction/dystopian is not my favorite genre to read, but I will read anything Kelly St. Clare writes because it defies genre. The story is about people. It's about relationships and overcoming flaws. No one is perfect in this story. It differs from so many in the genre because the people are very real. They've been given awful circumstances and fight because they have to, not because they're some special person who is supposed to save the world. The only thing that makes anyone better than the others is their heart and their determination.
This series is also intensely funny. I laughed through a good part of it.

What was just okay:
That it ended? That good enough? Honestly, the worst part about this series is that when I finish reading, I have to try to read something else that can't live up to it.

Final Verdict:
A fun, extremely well-done story full of humor and an enormous amount of heart.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Whatever Became of the Squishies? (Whatever Became of the Squishies #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Isabelle I was looking for something to inspire my class of 9th graders into exploring books and..."