Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1036
Unique and intriguing!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Tara Sim’s debut novel was a delightful, utterly unique tale with a steampunk twist. The story was magical, the characters sweethearts, and the writing simply eloquent. For my first steampunk novel, this was a treat!

In an alternate Victorian world where time is regulated by mechanical clock towers, Danny Hart, the youngest mechanic in history, is recovering from an accident that left with a severe case of PTSD. Even worse, his father has been stuck in a town where time Stopped for three years, and his mother is a shell of the person she used to be. Struggling to get back into the mechanic world, Danny is assigned to a small town called Enfield, where the local clock tower is plagued by minor problems.
Danny’s new assistant annoys and intrigues him, but the boy is eager to learn although he is distant. Danny soon learns Colton’s secret: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. While Colton and Danny are drawn together by lonliness, Danny knows that falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden. But, when a series of bombings threaten to Stop more cities, Danny and Colton must work together and find a way to stop Enfield from becoming the next target, or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves too.

Sim has created an incredible alternate Britain, which is slightly more technologically advanced than our own Victorian era: in Sim’s world, there are automobiles, motorcycles and airships. At the end of the novel, Sim has written a small explanation of the changes she has made for her world, including rights for women and acknowledgement of LGBT people. It’s so refreshing to read a fantasy novel where women and LGBT people are appreciated, and made the stars of the novel.

I really enjoyed Danny as the protagonist and narrator. He was quite adorable, but strong too. The fact that he suffers from anxiety and PTSD is so important, because it forms a big part of his character and personality. He’s very loyal and courageous, and I love that he doesn’t go through a breakdown over his sexuality – he’s gay, that’s it, no dramas, this is normal. What I mean by this is that it feels as though every second YA LGBT novel focuses on the importance of ‘coming out’, and while those types of stories are incredibly significant, the constant use of this issue feels as though this is the only narrative LGBT people can have. I’m not saying that stories like that aren’t important – they totally are – but having characters that are confident in their sexuality is just as important, especially in YA books.

The same with issues surrounding women: it gets so dry to constantly read about women been subjugated by men and reading vile sexist language (looking at you SJM with your constant reaffirmation of males and females – please stop). In the novel, Danny’s best friend Cassie is a car mechanic, and an inventor who created the life-saving seatbelts! Her relationship with Danny is very loving and encouraging, as they both care and protect one another. One of the other female characters in Timekeeper who breaks expectations for women is Daphne, Danny’s work rival. Danny has a lot of respect for her, despite being his biggest rival – she is also half Indian and very proud of her heritage. While the novel is set in an alternate timeline, Sim has still included the horrors Britain subjected on India, as its important to remember the bad along with the good when it comes to history.

Colon was an angel – an innocent time spirit angel. He is probably one of the sweetest characters I have come across in a very long time, and the reader can’t help but fall for him along with Danny. Colton has this incredible zest for life despite not being able to experience anything in his tower. He wants so much to live life to the fullest, but instead he spends his days watching over the people of Enfield and caring for them. The romance between Colton and Danny is intensely sweet and cute – that’s the best way to describe it. While forbidden, their love is not hot and heavy, nor is it too in your face: it’s tender, enchanting and oh so adorable. I love the way their romance developed because they’re two very lonely boys, who only desire a little love and gentleness in their lives, and this is how they bond. I pretty much had tears in my eyes for a lot of Colton and Danny’s scenes.

The plot was a little predictable, but it didn’t affect my enjoyment of the novel at all. The book is fast-paced and incredibly well written. Sim’s prose is both electric and fluid. She perfectly gets into and remains in Danny’s 17-year-old head, and I am so thankful for the way she portrays and explains his PTSD.

I highly recommend Timekeeper, especially if you’re looking for a fun, easy-to-read, romantic YA. The romance was the winner of this book for me, but the plot was engaging and the bigger mystery was intriguing, keeping me up and reading until the very early hours of the morning.
Good Points
Check out my blog and other reviews: thebookcorps.wordpress.com
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fight like a magical girl in this paperback original contemporary...

Latest Member Reviews

Friend Me
 
5.0
"Roisin has moved from Dublin, Ireland to the Boston area with her mother and older brother Michael. Her mother works..."
Five Total Strangers
 
5.0
"FIVE TOTAL STRANGERS is a thrilling ride that kept me guessing. Mira is on her way to her mother's house..."
None Shall Sleep
 
4.3
"NONE SHALL SLEEP is an engaging YA psychological thriller. The book follows Emma Lewis, who in the past was captured..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
All Your Twisted Secrets
 
4.7
"Perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying A delightfully twisty page-turner, fans of Karen M. McManus will..."
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
"LITTLE CREEPING THINGS was definitely a engrossing read, as I finished it pretty quickly. Here, we have Cassidy, who has..."
Clique Bait
 
4.3
"The Story: Chloe is after revenge for what happened the year before to her best friend. She blames the..."
Fractures (Echoes, #2)
 
3.0
"FRACTURES follows up ECHOES with a similar adventure and eventually leading to the answers we sought in the first book...."
I Killed Zoe Spanos
 
5.0
"I KILLED ZOE SPANOS is an engaging YA thriller. The book switches between the present and a few months earlier,..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
4.7
"JANE ANONYMOUS follows two timelines: one while Jane was captured for 7 months and one after she is back home...."
Wilder Girls
 
4.7
" THIS WAS INCREDIBLE. This book reads like BUTTER...… Moldy, rotten, disgusting butter,..."
Jane Anonymous: A Novel
 
5.0
"Told from the perspective of a girl who was captured and escaped, JANE ANONYMOUS is a thriller of both physical..."
Pax Novis (The Pax Archives, #1)
 
4.0
"PAX NOVIS is an engaging YA sci-fi novel that takes place in the future, when humans have colonized other planets...."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
The Missing Season
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."