Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1283
An interesting shifter concept
(Updated: May 20, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Sanctuary (Shifter Chronicles, #1) by Melle Amade

The Story:
Shae spent the entire summer without hearing a word from her best friends. And now they’re back, her worst fears are realized when they shut her out. Completely. Shae stumbles through a series of mishaps and chance-sightings, which lead her to an answer explaining her friend’s cold-shouldered behavior. But will the answer change anything, or will Shae have to put her life on the line for everything to return to how it was?

The Characters:
There are several enjoyable things about Shae; her love of her younger brother is one of them as well as the light-hearted relationship between Shae and her father. The broken relationship with her mother is a great subplot to keep the reader hooked. At the same time, Shae has a tendency to be a push-over. I found myself wondering why she would want to be friends with the others at all when they are so mean.
Kudos to the author, I truly hate Shae’s best friend—this shows how well the author draws out reader emotion in her dialogue.

The World:
Overall, the dark world of animal shifters and their hierarchy is well explained. We understand the rules, and the motives of the antagonist. The author has put in a lot of effort with adding extra complexities to the shifter world. Doing so has made the world within Sanctuary’s covers fresh, twisted, and enticing. What was murky were the spatial aspects of the world-building. I found it hard to get a sense of exactly how the shifter world integrated into everyday life. Hopefully, the author is keeping these tid-bits hostage to hand out further in the series!

The Readability:
This author has a beautiful, descriptive style. Melle Amade summons her settings to life before our eyes with her thoughtful depictions. One of the best is her description of the ice settling down onto Shae. Sometimes in fantasy books, you skip over the magical processes after the first few instances, but not in this book!
The explanations through the story feel a bit convenient on occasion, but the story flows well. The final plot-twist is satisfying, and the subplots are unpredictable.

Final Verdict:
This author delivers an interesting shifter concept, true emotion, and strong imagery. Melle Amade is an author to watch very closely in the near future.
This is a darker paranormal book for young adults, recommended for ages fourteen and over due to moderate violence and darker themes. Professionally edited.

Favorite Quote:
“Breathe in the flowers, blow out the candles.”
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

Firebrand (Steeplejack #2)
 
4.7
"Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
4.3
"I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, Front Lines, so I was really excited for this sequel...."
The Turncoat's Gambit
 
5.0
"THE TURNCOAT’S GAMBIT by Andrea Cremer is the conclusion of an alt-history trilogy that examines the what-ifs of a failure..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
5.0
"Just wowza. I'm a huge fan of FRONT LINES, the first book in the series. This series is an..."
Wolf By Wolf
 
4.3
"Intriguing take on 'what would have happened if Hitler had won the war'. Add to that a wicked paranormal..."
Smoke
 
3.0
"In historical England, people give off Smoke. It is generally accepted that this Smoke is a product of sin, and..."
Plus One
 
4.0
"Elizabeth Fama sets her novel, PLUS ONE, in a segregated world where half of the population lives and works in..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
3.7
"History has taken an awful twist in THE ONLY THING TO FEAR. Hitler and his cronies have taken over the..."
Front Lines
 
4.7
"I usually avoid reading WWII novels, whether they are young adult or non-fiction, because I don’t like how they all..."
Front Lines
 
4.0
"An alternate history story of World War 2 where women are eligible to be drafted after a court ruling. Front..."
Front Lines
 
5.0
"In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."