Review Detail

Lucky Girl Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1449
full of lifelike characters and new questions
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:
Girls like Rosie often occupy the “best friend” role in YA novels. You know, the ridiculously pretty, clever, boy-crazy girls. Girls like her best friend Maddie, newly returned from a summer in Spain with new confidence and a new look, are usually the narrators. Maciel makes an old story feel new again just by switching the POV from the most obvious choice to one of the characters usually left in a supporting role. Give me more boy-crazy (or girl-crazy or just plain relationship-crazy) girls as narrators!

Lucky Girl is especially subtle with its message about sexual assault, using a light touch to make the reader think about less obvious facets of rape culture. In particular, it got me thinking about how girls learn to gaslight themselves in the event of an assault. When Maddie’s new boyfriend/Rosie’s former hookup Cory tries to rape Rosie at a party while both are drunk, Rosie immediately blames herself and says she didn’t fight him off.

Except she did fight him off. She bit his arm and tried to push him away, but she still blames herself for flirting with Cory. She didn’t really do that either. All the questions people ask of sexual abuse/assault victims like “what were they wearing?” and “did they lead the person on?” and “did you fight back?” get internalized as we grow up and we ask ourselves these questions when it happens to us even if we think we know better. Whether we were in a thousand layers or completely naked, whether we never even talked to the person or decided at any point during the encounter to withdraw our consent, whether we fought back or not–WE ARE NOT TO BLAME.

It takes most of the novel for Rosie to make Maddie listen to her side of the story, but once she does, Maddie realizes how bad of a friend she’d been by refusing to hear Rosie’s side and throws all of her support behind Rosie. In fact, it’s Maddie who calls what happened what it is: assault. At no point before then did Rosie think of Cory’s actions as such. If something ever happens to us, having someone with Maddie’s tenacity on our side would be a dream.

Maybe the novel made me think this way because I’ve been immersed in feminist activism for close to half my life, but the point remains: though Rosie changes as a person, the book isn’t about how the events change Rosie. It’s about how the way we question the veracity of sexual abuse/assault victims can be as damaging as the event itself.

What Left Me Wanting:
Lucky Girl‘s one flaw is how it feels aimless at times. Though Rosie is an interesting, sympathetic character, her progress as a character only kicks into gear when she makes Maddie listen to her side of what happened at the party. Until then, it’s a lot of Rosie being miserable, missing her friends, and slowly getting closer to her love interest Alex. It turns into less of an issue if you care about her enough, but you may get distracted by plot threads about how Rosie’s love interest stopped a school shooting and a piece of the town being destroyed by a tornado.

Final Verdict:
Tease showed off her promise as a writer, but Lucky Girl is a true show of Maciel’s gift for writing lifelike characters and making readers ask questions they never considered before. If there are more YA novels coming from her in the future, I’m all in!
Good Points
*incredible characters
*often-told story feels unique
*subtle, nuanced handling of subject matter
*makes readers ask themselves new questions
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...

Latest Member Reviews

Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."