Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3931
Beautifully Detailed
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What Left Me Wanting More:
I was a little confused by the alternating POV. The POV’s are ‘Tea’s’ during her Asha training and an unknown narrator who speaking about ‘Tea . Much of what is mentioned in the second POV is never explained.
The second half of the book did drag a bit for me. It felt as if some of the Asha daily life routine could have been skipped.
I also was constantly confused by the Eight Kingdoms and the cities within. There is a map at the beginning and a break down of each kingdom at the end that helped me sort things out a little.
The ending did leave me hanging a bit. Hopefully, the next installment with time up some of these loose ends . There is a twist at the end that was a little difficult to pick up on. Again, hopefully this will be explained it book two.
My Final Judgement:
‘The Bone Witch’ is a high fantasy novel with an amazing backdrop, complex characters, and timely topics. I loved it and it has inspired me to dive into more high fantasies soon. I can’t wait to read the next installment of the series. Hopefully, future books will tie up some of the cliff hangers.
Good Points
‘The Bone Witch’ tells the story of ‘Tea’ who was given the gift of necromancy. Because of this gift, she is ostracized by those around her. She is than brought to a live with other Asha (witches of varying types).
High fantasy usually isn’t one of my go to genres. I am more of a real world kind of gal. However, the premise (i.e. necromancy) of this story along with the fantastic cover, made me decide to give this one a shot.
I loved the character of Tea. She was both amazing and touchingly vulnerable. Her character was well-developed and relatable. I felt myself rooting ‘Tea’ throughout the book.
Since I am not much of a high fantasy reader, I generally am not used to world building so this was initially a lot to dig through. Once I got through the details the setting really brought me into ‘Tea’s’ World. The description (especially of the clothing) was vibrant and truly amazing ( I want a hua for myself). I also thought it was unique the way Chupeco gave each kingdom a unique personality. Each kingdom had unique dress, customs, and rituals.
‘Tea’s story was unique and created an interesting tale for me. It had a interesting perspective and created a fairytale feeling .
I loved that the underlying story. I also loved that real world issues were explored inside the fantasy setting. ‘Tea’s’ ostracism by those around her was definitely one of those issue. Tea couldn’t help who and what she was born as but this didn’t stop those around her for judging her because of it.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.0
"This series is like a horrific car crash: you know you should just move on, but you can't help but..."
Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.3
"It was definitely better than Awakened, but still not at the standard the first few in the series set. It's..."