Review Detail

Honestly Ben Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1311
A Phenomenal
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Ben Carver is a perfectly normal high-achieving boy. He is a scholarship student at a fancy private school. He has a family that he loves. He’s on the baseball team. He has met a beautiful girl who likes him as much as he likes her. And he just won a scholarship that will guarantee his ability to go to college despite his family’s low-income status.

But Ben doesn’t feel like he’s perfectly normal. The stress of others’ expectations is weighing on him… and then there’s the *whatever* that happened with his best friend Rafe last semester. And whatever THAT was and his reaction to it has ensured that he doesn’t really have a best friend anymore.

In short, Ben is starting to drown, and he’s trying to figure out how to keep himself afloat.

HONESTLY BEN is the first book by Bill Konigsberg that I’ve read—I’m not sure how that’s possible, but it’s true—and after finishing it, my first thought was “I want to read all of his other books, and then I want to read them again, and then I want to be Bill Konigsberg's best friend and hang out with him all the time.”

I’m sure that wouldn’t be creepy to him at all.

As for the book, HONESTLY BEN is a beautiful portrayal of a young man’s attempt to figure out who he is. But it’s not just beautiful, it’s funny too. And to make it even better, it’s full of tension and low-key action and, ultimately, acceptance. But not in a way that ties everything up neatly, which makes the book even better.

Ben is one of my favorite YA literary characters, and at moments in the book when I want to roll my eyes because he’s just TOO perfect, he’s kind enough to do something insensitive or selfish. His relationships with his friends, his teammates, his girlfriend, and his boyfriend are all authentic—heck, HE’S authentic.

HONESTLY BEN has more wit and wisdom than any YA book I’ve read in a while, and I think most readers will be able to identify with it some way. I’m really looking forward to reading more from the author.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
A book filled with wit and wisdom

A great main character
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

Waste of Space
 
4.0
"A satirical look into a reality show set in Outer Space. Readers get a back seat into witnessing what..."
Wax
Wax
 
5.0
"I love Gina Damico. I just do. I feel like she gets my sense of humor. I loved the Croak..."
Hellhole
 
4.7
"This book is hysterical. Let's talk about what "hysterical" means. hys·ter·i·cal - h??ster?k(?)l/ - adjective 1. deriving from or..."
Rogue (Croak #3)
 
5.0
"This review will be spoiler-free for the series. What I Loved: Today I shall exhort you to begin..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"From the moment I looked at the cover, I knew that I was going to love Croak. I mean, seriously...."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"One great thing about being a Cybil's panelist has to be discovering some great books. CROAK is one such..."
Scorch (Croak #2)
 
3.3
"Scorch made me feel, but the problem is it just made me feel rage. There were plenty of chances for..."
Scorch (Croak #2)
 
4.3
"Gina Damico's Croak ranks as one of the funniest books I've ever read. She has this great, dark, absurdist sense..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"Croak caught my eye early on. Grim reapers. A strong and sarcastic main character. What more could a reader ask..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.0
"Croak started off pretty slow, but I found myself really enjoying it by then end. At first everything seemed really..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
4.7
"Croak is a great debut, hands down. It was hilarious, it was dark, and put a new spin onto one..."
Croak (Croak #1)
 
5.0
"Amazingly, awesomely, astoundingly fantastic! This was so fun and easy to read. The setting, the characters, the story, the sharp..."