Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2663
AMAZING!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kestrel is the general's daughter and she gets to live the high life because of the land her father stole during the war. Her people invaded and made slaves of the natives. It's the day that she buys her first and last slave that everything changes. She gets to to know this slave: Arin and finds she actually cares for him, truly cares, but she doesn't know of his plans for her or her people. He wants his freedom at all costs.

There is such a power on words in this novel, lies and truth. I've never quite read anything like it. It's really interesting. I will admit that it was very slow to start for me, it was pretty boring for a while but when it took off, it took off. It was such a ride, watching all these people play with secrets, using them for their own gain.

The romance is perfect, it is slow built and nothing close to insta-love, which I hate so much. It's so sad how hard they try not to fall for each other. I mean he is a slave and she the general's daughter, that just doesn't happen but no one can control love. The world building is top notch and the book is written perfectly, the flow of words seamless.

I do feel badly for Kestrel in the end. I mean that choice... to save your people and maybe get the one you love killed or stay with the man you love while your people die? That's not an easy choice, I mean no would should be a slave, ever but to just let your own people die?

So bottom line, beautiful storytelling, wonderful characters, and a very engaging plot. I can't believe I waited so long to start this series! I've been missing out and so are you if you haven't read this yet.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

She Loved Baseball: The Effa Manley Story
 
5.0
"Effa Manley grew up being told "that's just the way it is." That was the reason why she (a lighter..."