Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1440
Intense and Crazy Addictive
(Updated: January 29, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Kami Garcia has done it again! This book is every bit as addictive as all her other ones, and yet something completely new.

You’re probably going to look at this cover, then read the synopsis and automatically think: romance, all romance. That’s what I was honestly expecting, but I found the romance didn’t compare to Frankie’s struggle in rebuilding her life.

It started off a couple months after the death of Frankie’s boyfriend and childhood friend, Noah. Noah's death not only was tragic because he was a promising athlete, but also because he was brutally murdered- and in front of Frankie. She’s traumatized, grieving, angry, and clearly isn’t letting anyone be there for her.. which leads her to make some questionable decisions..which means:

1. She’s expelled from her elite private school.
2. She’s moving in with the dad she barely knows.
3. She’s transferring to Monroe, the public school with a bad rep.

There she meets Marco, aka a bad-boy player, and an infamous street racer.

“Dark eyes lock on mine. I stop breathing for a second. Guys at Woodley don’t look like this- rough, inked, and muscular. His hair sticks up in the front like he started spiking it and lost interest halfway through the process.”

Marco was instantly intrigued with Frankie when he first saw her at his school and it moved quickly from there. This is probably the only aspect of the story which I felt something lacking. Marco was a very interesting character, but not a lot of depth was provided. I still enjoyed his character overall, but I felt like his side of the story or at least some of his opinions would’ve been nice to read.

Besides that, I liked:

Lexie, Frankie’s best friend. I loved her boldness, ability to see humor in even the worst things, and her unfaltering loyalty towards Frankie. Frankie was not the greatest friend [understandably due to her personal struggles], but Lexie always came when she was needed and was honest with her.

CRUUUUZ. I want a spin-off of her story, to be honest. She is so unapologetically confident and honest. I loved her charm and how she never let anyone think she was anything less than the best.

Kami’s writing style!!! Even with the some issues I should’ve had with this book… I. Could. Not. Stop. Reading. Everything just flowed so perfectly that I read it all in one sitting!

Final thoughts?

The Lovely Reckless is crazy addictive. I can’t think of anyone wouldn’t completely devour this book in a day or two. It’s intense, fast-paced, with lovable characters, and something a bit different! Highly recommend to all!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

Echoes Between Us
 
4.0
"Veronica sees her mother’s ghost all over her house. She’s not sure if it’s real, given the other ghosts that..."
Echoes Between Us
 
4.0
"Veronica can see the ghost of her dead mother. She also suffers from debilitating migraines that hold her back from..."
How to Make Friends with the Dark
 
3.0
"A weighty YA Contemporary, grappling with a wide array of crises and quandaries. What I..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"YOU ARE THE EVERYTHING is an intriguing stream-of-consciousness style read that follows Elyse Schmidt, a 16/17 year old girl who..."
How It Feels to Float
 
4.7
"This story follows the life of Biz, a teenaged girl. Biz lives with her family, goes to school, explores her..."
The Voice in my Head
 
4.3
"THE VOICE IN MY HEAD begins with Indigo standing on a building, praying to God for her sister to live..."
HOW SHE DIED, HOW I LIVED
 
4.7
"What worked: Gripping tale that deals with survivor guilt after a horrific murder. This story is intense, but one I..."
You Are The Everything
 
4.0
"Elyse Schmidt has the biggest crush on Josh Harris, but he has no idea. When tragedy strikes on their plane..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: White people like me are unlikely to get this book or get much from it either. It’s..."
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter
 
4.7
"I was excited to be asked to read and review I AM NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER. I love stories..."