Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3083
Spinning Gold
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
An uncommon fairytale retelling, with an equally uncommon heroine—ideal for fans of Once Upon A Time.

While tied to the first book in the Ravenspire series, The Wish Granter stands perfectly well on its own. It is told in a similar way--primarily dual POV in past-tense, with a smattering of the villain’s perspective threaded through. The resulting effect is consistent and cohesive. Some of the re-imagined elements (i.e. Hansel & Gretel: Monster Wranglers) posed intriguing worldbuilding questions that readers may look forward to being answered in future installments.

The Heroine:
Arianna Glavan never asked to be a princess. When the ruling mantle inexplicably falls to her and her twin brother Thad, she tries to make the best of their newfound responsibilities. But while the kingdom of Sundraille is their home, it doesn’t accept the illegitimate heirs with open arms. Their leadership turns out to be little more than a puppet dictatorship under the thumb of a drug-dealing Fae kingpin named Alistair Teague. Defying Teague means death, but submitting to him means the corrosive destruction of everything good in Sundraille.

Ari is an exceedingly pleasant departure from Redwine’s previous heroines. (As much as I enjoy a no-nonsense kick-butt warrior for a protagonist, it’s nice to see an author flex their range.) She is quick-witted, pithily sarcastic, deeply caring—immediately likeable. She also happens to be plus-sized, ethnically blended, and reeling from a lifetime of being the ignored bastard child of the king rather than a “true” royalty. Never mind the fact that she’d rather be baking up a storm than trying to run an ungrateful, disintegrating kingdom.

Thad: “But this is a boy, and you need to think of your reputation if you’re spending time alone with him—”

Ari: ”Learning how to put a man's eye out or take him down at the knees. Very romantic stuff, Thad. Very romantic. Oh, and we also hid a body together, so we're practically engaged.”


All hail Princess Sassy-Pants! (I’m looking at you, Disney.)

The Hero:
Sebastian is a sympathetic hero, escaping a dismally awful background in hopes of a better life away from the drugs, abuse, and organized crime that were seemingly his birthright. His new job at the palace lands him directly in the path of the unorthodox—and doggedly determined--princess. Her insistence on treating him as an equal is enough to gradually chip away at his damaged past and sense of inferiority. While the eventual romance that develops between them is the kind that springs forth from a desperate thrown-together situation, it’s all the more believable for it.

My primary qualm with this story was in wishing there was something even mildly redemptive about Sebastian’s mother. I could accept his father being an abusive, 1-dimensional villain... but I was hoping for more depth out of the drug-seeking woman he felt motivated to fund a better life for. (Even just a memory or two of a time when she’d been more maternal, or a theory as to what hurts from her past drove her to this lifestyle, would have probably sufficed.) As it was, I struggled to understand how Sebastian could have turned out as an even vaguely honorable and/or functional human being—given there was no hint of any positive adult influence in his upbringing.

I also would have loved to see more of that living Fae house that came into play at the halfway point. It is said that a location can be a secondary character if portrayed well, but this reader had never before seen the concept taken so literally!

On the whole, this book is likely to prove an endearing and memorable experience for any medium-fantasy or fairytale enthusiast.

Favorite Quote:
"Sometimes having courage means the hardest tasks fall onto your shoulders, and those leave the biggest scars.”
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Apocalypse Taco
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sid, Axl, and Ivan volunteer to make a late-night fast-food...
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war and...
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Part of a super fun middle grade series, Awesome Achievers...
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Girl by day. Cat by night. Ready for an adventure....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A strong educational foundation helps ensure a child is able...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first I Can Read! book featuring beloved picture book...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In a beautiful anthology, ten children’s book greats share stories,...
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
First time in print! The...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sage Sassafras’s life is cursed! No, really. Since birth, Sage...
Naked Mole Rat Saves the World
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can Kit’s super-weird superpower save her world? ...
The Brokenhearted
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
teenage girl is transformed into a reluctant superhero and...
Brave Enough
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Teenager Cason Martin is the youngest ballerina in the Atlanta...
I Wanna Be Where You Are
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Chloe Pierce’s mom forbids her to apply for a...

Latest Member Reviews

Remember Me
 
3.7
"REMEMBER ME is an engaging mystery/thriller that goes back and forth through time. We follow Lea in the past when..."
A Room Away From the Wolves
 
5.0
"Clever, mysterious, and deliciously creepy, A ROOM AWAY FROM THE WOLVES is an atmospheric magical realism that will make the..."
Every Stolen Breath
 
4.0
"EVERY STOLEN BREATH is an engrossing read that follows Lia as she attempts to uncover her father's killers. Every so..."
Darkness on the Edge of Town (Stranger Things )
 
4.7
"Darkness on the Edge of Town is a fascinating glimpse into Hopper's past. Being a big fan of Hopper since..."
This Cruel Design
 
5.0
"Feedback This book…. What do I have to say about this book…. I have such a love/hate relationship with it...."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
5.0
"Tiffany D. Jackson has knocked it out of the park yet again with LET ME HEAR A RHYME. When Steph..."
Overturned
 
5.0
"Top 3 reasons you need to read Overturned by Lamar Giles (and read the rest of his books while you're..."
Last Things
 
4.7
"LAST THINGS is a YA fantasy that follows two teens, Anders and Thea, in alternating points-of-view. Anders is the vocalist,..."
Let Me Hear a Rhyme
 
4.7
"I'm not sure which the character I loved the most. It is one of those heartfelt stories about a group..."
The Vanishing Stair
 
4.7
"Feedback As soon as I finished the first book I was so eager to continue. I absolutely loved Truly..."
Truly Devious
 
5.0
"Feedback I absolutely loved this book. It was a buddy read for me and it sounded interesting so I..."
The Lovely and the Lost
 
5.0
"THE LOVELY AND THE LOST follows Kira, a girl who was once found by search and rescue (SAR) and who..."
The Day Before (Riverdale Novel 1)
 
4.0
"Riverdale: The Day Before features the perspectives of the four main characters of season 1: Jughead, Archie, Betty, and Veronica...."
Analiese Rising
 
3.7
"ANALIESE RISING is a YA fantasy that sets us up with a new world and new characters. Analiese (Ana..."
We Told Six Lies
 
4.7
"WE TOLD SIX LIES is an engaging YA thriller. Cobain is an 18-year-old loner- he doesn't have any friends, and..."
Smoke and Key
 
4.0
"SMOKE AND KEY is an intriguing and macabre YA mystery. We follow Key into the world of Under as she..."
Where She Fell
 
3.3
"Eliza is an aspiring geologist and self-professed 'nerd'. Even though she feels like the odd one out, Eliza tries hard..."
Watch You Burn
 
3.7
"Jenny is an arsonist who has an addiction of watching things burn. When she moves in with her dad, she..."
99 Lies (100 Hours, #2)
 
4.3
"99 lies pick up exactly where the last book left off, post-kidnapping—at least for most of them. Genesis and Holden..."
A Sky for Us Alone
 
3.3
"A SKY FOR US ALONE by Kristin Russell is a YA coming-of-age novel filled with mystery and heartache. It’s set..."