Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1054
will keep readers glued to the pages
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:
Kalah remains one of the most complicated, well-written, and all-around discussable characters I’ve ever come across in YA. If you thought she was unreliable in Vanished, she goes far, far deeper down the hole of reliability here. Her voice remains as strong as ever and the mystery she pursues with single-minded intensity is as intriguing as ever. It’s almost like reading two books: one in which what she’s relaying is the truth and one in which her perceptions are altered by her refusal to take her OCD and anxiety medication. You can be a very different person without your meds!

The plot remains fast-paced and absording as well, perhaps even moreso than before because Kalah is trying to prove something this time instead of find someone. Every single night, I intended to read just one more chapter before I went to sleep. Without fail, I’d read five chapters instead and wake up the next morning tired from my thoughts racing. I don’t regret a thing about it and I can’t imagine you will either if the same thing happened when you read Vanished.

What Left Me Wanting:
Unfortunately, the ending puts a damper on the excitement with its possibly dangerous message about medication. Throughout Vanished and Avenged, Kalah stopped taking the medication prescribed for her anxiety and other mental health issues. She “didn’t like how they made her feel” and she felt they kept her from seeing what she wanted to in her pursuit of justice for Beth. This would have been a great point on which to discuss Kalah’s mental health and reliability, but the end of the novel justifies her refusal to take the medication she was prescribed for a good reason. The ending also creates major characterization issues, but it’s impossible to go into them without giving away the ending.

Don’t skip your meds just because you hate how they make you feel. You either learn to deal with that because the “before meds” picture was much worse or you work with your doctor to find meds that work better for you. Oddly, even though this book came with the ending I feared most, I wasn’t as angry as I expected to be. I’m still disappointed and overly wordy about it, but I suppose I’d prepared myself for this.

Final Verdict:
Though its ending raises more issues than it should, the Vanished duology and Avenged especially will keep readers glued to the pages and questioning Kalah until the very end. Before long, I plan to have both novels sitting on my shelf of favorites in my home. In case you’re inspired to write a novel with an unreliable narrator, this is the duology that will show you how to do it well!
Good Points
*brilliant, unreliable narrator
*fast-paced plot
*twisty and unpredictable
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Far away from the modern world, on a small tropical...

Latest Member Reviews

Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."