Review Detail

Stealing Snow Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1197
Solid start to a new series and a must-read for those who love fairy tale retellings.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Full Disclaimer: I adore Danielle Paige's Dorothy Must Die series. The worldbuilding is incredible and I am fascinated by an Oz in which Dorothy becomes the thing she once fought against. While Stealing Snow is not ALL THAT, it is quite a good read. Despite the allusion towards Snow White, the story does not re-tell so much as borrow a couple of elements (I was quite amused at how Snow named her pills after the dwarves). There are some beautifully, fantastical, elements that harken back to the whimsy of fairy tales and some terrifying creatures that will have any princess shaking in her snow boots. There were some great plot twists along the way and the assurance that, as the series continues, Snow (and the reader) cannot afford to trust ANYONE.

Unfortunately, while Snow's spunky sarcasm and stubbornness could make her a great heroine, she had an annoying habit of following along blindly without much information. She also seemed to be attracted to every single male character in the book. There were some really interesting side characters who didn't get a great deal of development, though they might prove more fundamental to the series as it continues. These characters show real potential and I hope Paige will utilize them more fully in the coming books. I also hope she will spend more time building upon the relationships between Snow and those she cares about. I would love to know more about her mother and Bane and what brought them to this point.

While Stealing Snow has some character issues, it is a solid start to a new series and a must-read for those who love fairy tale retellings.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Stalking Jack the Ripper
 
5.0
"I have no words….well, that’s a lie. I have lots of words. Just where to start?! Stalking Jack the Ripper..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
4.7
"Twilight is the epic love story of Edward and Bella. Forget any vampire romance you have read before, Twilight is..."
Invictus
 
5.0
"Feedback While I enjoy sci-fi books I have only read a couple of time traveling books with this one..."
Invictus
 
4.3
"“Invictus” is a fantastic YA sci-fi adventure. I whole-heartedly agree with Revis’s review which says that it’s Firefly as teenagers..."
The Adventurer's Guide to Successful Escapes (The Adventurer's Guide #1)
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURER’S GUIDE TO SUCCESSFUL ESCAPES follows Anne who has lived in Saint Lupin’s Institute for Perpetually Wicked and Hideously..."
Ketchup Clouds
 
3.3
"Written in a series of letters to a criminal on death row this book gave me mixed feelings. I don’t..."
Invictus
 
4.7
"Time-travelling thieves. Who doesn’t want to read about that? Invictus follows Farway Gaius McCarthy, a wannabe time-traveller who was..."
Invictus
 
4.0
"Invictus was the first book I've read by Ryan Graudin and I'm really glad I gave it a try. The..."
 
4.7
"This book is quite simply nothing like the Twilight Saga. Aliens have invaded Earth, not only claiming our homes..."
Strange, The Dreamer
 
5.0
"I was a little hesitant to pick up Strange the Dreamer. It is a hype book: one of those books..."
Strange, The Dreamer
 
5.0
"Make room on your favourite shelves, Strange the Dreamer demands nothing but that top coveted spot. I’m ashamed to say..."
Vampire Mountain (Cirque du Freak #4)
 
5.0
"This book takes a time jump of six years, so now Evra is a young man while Darren looks around..."
The Vampire's Assistant (Cirque du Freak #2)
 
5.0
"This installment is a lot more graphic than the first. There was a lot of foreshadowing, but I think it..."
Tunnels of Blood (Cirque du Freak #3)
 
5.0
"To me, this one wasn't quite as good as the first two. Darren, Mr. Crepsley, after a little convincing, Evra..."
Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1)
 
5.0
"This novel was really a reread for me as I read it back in February 2013. You may wonder how..."
A Living Nightmare (Cirque du Freak #1)
 
5.0
"This book was a favorite of mine as a young girl and now as an adult I still love it...."
NanoBots
 
4.5
"One night, a great inventor creates a fleet of robots so tiny they cannot be seen by the naked eye...."
Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1)
 
5.0
"A really great story that's unlike anything I've read before. Author Laini Taylor gives us a whole new look on..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
2.7
"I read this book when I was fifteen so of course I fell in love with it. Over time, I..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."