Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1548
A unique, consuming novel
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
When Denise and her mother prepare to leave for the temporary shelter they’ve been assigned to stay safe when the comet hits, one thing is missing: Denise’s sister, Iris. Combined with the slow pace of Denise’s drug-addicted mother, reaching the shelter seems less and less likely. When a last-minute, chance encounter, leads them to a generation ship, things start looking up. Unfortunately, everyone on the ship has been specially selected based on their usefulness, and the wait list to get on if a spot opens up is long. Denise is autistic and worries she won’t be able to get a spot, not to mention what might happen to her mother and sister.

Corinne Duyvis’s ON THE EDGE OF GONE stuns with its incredible action, emotional portrayal of family relationships, and strong, impeccable voice. This is the sort of novel that grabs the reader from the first sentence and doesn’t let go, leaving them with their mouth hanging open in awe once they reach the end. Denise is a practical, determined protagonist who cares deeply for her family and navigates tough ideas about Earth, society, and what it means to set important boundaries for yourself. She is also autistic, and this is a fantastic #ownvoices book to read.

Though this novel is on the longer side, the pace has a consistent build. Readers shouldn’t be surprised to find themselves devouring chapter after chapter. Denise and her family’s journey is tough, both emotionally and physically. The plot twists hit hard, and the stakes are intense in a different ‘life and death’ kind of way than usual, as so much is uncertain about the effects of the comet on the world. Though Denise is the only narrator, the secondary characters are well-developed, particularly her sister, Iris. The family triangle evolves in ways that are heartbreaking, realistic, and still kind. In the face of an impending apocalypse, tensions are high among everyone, and family issues cannot be ignored for long.

ON THE EDGE OF GONE is a unique, consuming novel of what it means to weigh judgment on other people and where trying to survive and hope meet.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl on the Brink
 
5.0
"KIRKUS REVIEWS: A debut novel shows that abusive relationships can occur in upper-middle-class suburban towns involving victims smart enough to..."
Sojourn - The Deadlands
 
4.7
"Let me say that I loved this book! I read the first book, The Wildlands and thought it was wonderful,..."
Sojourn - The Wildlands
 
4.3
"This is one of the best YA novels I've read in a while. It's original, full of characters that..."
Sojourn - The Wildlands
 
4.7
"What else can I say? It's wonderful...exciting, interesting, sad at times and funny at others. The main characters,..."
Happily Never After
 
3.3
"The first thing that caught my eye about Happily Never After is the setting. It's set in this amazing Georgia..."