Review Detail

Snowbirds Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1668
Snowbirds
(Updated: January 01, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
SNOWBIRDS by Crissa-Jean Chappell is a contemporary young adult drama set in the world of an Amish community in Pinecraft, Florida. The book sheds light on an otherwise secretive and mysterious society and offers an unprejudiced look at this way of life, one that I knew very little about prior. It was both educational and a reminder that the details of peoples’ lives are often just details. Deep down, everyone has the same wants, needs, and desires. The story is told by Lucy, a young Beachy Amish-Mennonite on the cusp of baptism, an event that will bind her to the church forever. When Lucy’s best friend, Alice, an Old Order girl from a stricter Amish section in Maine, goes missing, Lucy has to make a decision. Will she do whatever it takes to find her friend, even if that means going against the grain?

Crissa-Jean Chappell’s writing is the real star of this novel. Her command of words is astounding, so much so that the book has a strong poetic feel to it. The use of metaphors and imagery certainly characterize her overall style, but it really is the closing sentences of each chapter that add the magical touch. These final thoughts, the ones that button up each section, tend to convey messages in more artistic and less blatant ways. Consequently, in this sense, the story is very beautiful to read.

Overall, despite Lucy’s confines, this novel is quite exciting and adventurous. However, though the plot is engaging, I would have loved a bigger payoff at the end of the story. There is so much buildup in locating Alice and wondering whether she is actually alive that the conclusion, though logical, is slightly anticlimactic. With that being said, SNOWBIRDS is still a diamond in the rough and will firmly appeal to avid readers.
Snowbirds
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS If you're expecting a sequel to The Giver, you will be very disappointed. The two books are completely..."
Gathering Blue (The Giver Quartet #2)
 
4.7
"Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry is an amazing book. I would recommend this book to kids age 11-adult because this..."
 
2.7
"This book was an easy read and I enjoyed that the events of the present were broken up by chapters..."
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The Off Season differs quite a bit from Dairy Queen. Where in Dairy Queen, the focus is..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"What I Liked: Though I haven't had much chance to reread since I began blogging, it's one of my favorite..."
 
5.0
"I loved this book I really don’t know where to start with this review. Because I loved Dairy Queen (especially..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"D.J. Schwenk is a “cow.” Or at least, that’s what Brian Nelson thinks, since she runs her family’s farm by..."
 
3.7
"Wildthorn is not an ideal choice for those in search of happy fun times all the way through, but definitely..."
Dairy Queen
 
5.0
"I really need to pick up the second book!"
 
5.0
"Who put me here? That is the question that Louisa Cosgrove keeps thinking of as she is held captive in..."
 
5.0
"A stunning conclusion to one of my favorite trilogies. I love that Tolkien's world is so thoroughly built. I can..."
 
4.7
"This isn't my favorite of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, mostly because it is obviously a middle book and..."
 
4.0
"Seventeen-year-old Louisa Cosgrove finds herself taken by a horse-drawn carriage to Wildthorn Hall, an asylum for the insane. She's..."
Fire Will Fall
 
4.0
"Fire Will Fall picks up where Streams of Babel left off. The Trinity Four have been isolated in a..."
Dairy Queen
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by B I was inspired to write this review because this book was recently a Jeopardy question..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi Football season started well for Red Bend, as they defeated Hawley for the first time..."
Crazy Beautiful
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Yan In the back of the book the description compares this book to that of Disneys Beauty..."
Boy Toy
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Erica Boy ToyBarry LygaRelease Date: September 24, 2007Publisher: GraphiaPages: 416Rating: 4 starsFive years ago Joshs life changed...."
Ghost Huntress: The Awakening
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzy It took me a while to get into this book. In fact, at first I was..."