Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3125
A Terrific Fairy Tale
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
As THE WISH GRANTER begins, the King of Sundraille’s illegitimate children, Thaddeus and Arianna, are trying to escape being murdered by their father’s wife to ensure her children are the ones who will inherit her husband’s throne. As Ari sleeps nearby, Thad’s desperation summons Alistair Teague to his side. Teague is one of the powerful fae known as the Wish Granter, and he bargains for humans’ souls in exchange for their deepest desires. Thad wishes to keep his sister safe, and Teague convinces him that the best way to do that is by becoming king—and giving Teague free reign to conduct his illicit businesses within the kingdom of Sundraille. In exchange, Thad’s soul will be turned over to the Wish Granter ten years later.

In the pages that follow, Thad fades into the background as Ari discovers that her brother has bartered his soul and his kingdom to save her, and she is determined to save him in exchange. Ari’s intelligence and tenaciousness are well developed through the story, and her sass, loyalty, and enjoyment of food—both cooking it and eating it—make her lovable and relatable. Early in the book, Ari befriends the new weapons master, Sebastian, and his fighting skill and knowledge of Teague’s business enterprises complement Ari’s strengths as the two work together to save the realm.

Ari quickly became one of my favorite female protagonists in YA literature, and I was happy that the development of her relationship with Sebastian was written so thoughtfully. It was great to see Ari maintain her independence, resilience, and resourcefulness throughout the book while slowly entering into a friendship-turned-romance with Sebastian.

Redwine writes the action sequences clearly and well, and despite the many twists and turns in the plot, I was never lost. The book is inspired by Rumplestiltskin, and the author doesn’t flinch from adhering to the edgy side of the classic tales. Alistair Teague is a merciless character, and this book is a far cry from a Disney retelling—something I really appreciate.

I have CJ Redwine’s THE SHADOW QUEEN, the companion book to THE WISH GRANTER, on my to-read list. I’ll definitely be moving up to the top of the pile based on the strength of this book.

My thanks to YA Books Central and the publisher for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased review.
Good Points
Great writing

Wonderful, strong, female protagonist
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

Follow Me (Amateurs #2)
 
3.7
"The gang's (Seneca, Maddox, Aerin, and Madison) back again in "Follow Me" by Sara Shepard, author of the "Pretty Little..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
3.0
" Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna are four girls with one thing in common - they were all friends with..."
The Good Girls (Perfectionists)
 
4.0
"The second and final book in The Perfectionist duology by Sara Shepard does not disappoint. Reminiscent of the Pretty Little..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
4.7
"After reading "Pretty Little Liars" by Sara Shepard, I was shocked. I had to admit that I had my doubts..."
Cross My Heart, Hope to Die (The Lying Game #5)
 
4.0
"This review contains spoilers. You’ve been warned! Even though Pretty Little Liars is much more popular I prefer The..."
Cross My Heart, Hope to Die (The Lying Game #5)
 
4.3
AH Alison Hong
"Confession: I'm reading Cross My Heart, Hope to Die only because I just want some clues hinting the identity of..."
Crushed (Pretty Little Liars #13)
 
3.7
"The Pretty Little Liars series puts me in a fix - it's been 13 books now, where will the story..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
4.3
"The lost soul part is what made me read it! :)"
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
5.0
"This story is about four bestfriends who are all back in Rosewood dealing with these weird texts from someone who..."
Never Have I Ever (The Lying Game #2)
 
4.7
"I enjoyed it thoroughly, I would not only recommend this book but this author."
Two Truths And A Lie (The Lying Game #3)
 
3.3
"I recommend this for those who read the first two and are waiting anxiously (like me) to finish the series...."
Two Truths And A Lie (The Lying Game #3)
 
2.7
"Not as good as the other ones."
Twisted (Pretty Little Liars #9)
 
4.3
"I, like most other fans, thought the series were over. We were shocked into disbelief at how the last book..."
Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by aubrey The book Flawless picks up right where Pretty Little Liars leaves off with Spencer, Aira,..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Meghan I picked up The Lying Game from the store, not really expecting much. I..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Bangelfreak "
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Izzy The Lying Game is a book by Sara Shepard, the well-known author of Pretty Little Liars. ..."
The Lying Game (The Lying Game #1)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lia Sutton Mercer wakes up dead, at her long-lost twin sister, Emma's foster home. Sutton unable to communicate..."
Pretty Little Liars (Pretty Little Liars #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Ruthie I actually watched the first season of the tv show before I decided to read the..."
Flawless (Pretty Little Liars #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by fifi57 Another good book by Sara Shepard.  After loving the 1st book I went out and got..."