Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2176
Late night page turning
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
FORGET ME ALWAYS is the second book in the Lovely Vicious series. It picks up where Love Me Never leaves off. Isis is in the hospital after the incident with her mother ex boyfriend Leo. She has completely lost her memory of Jack, but no one else. Anything involving Jack is a mystery to her. There she meets Sophia, Jack’s girlfriend. After awhile Isis’s memories start to come back to her and she begins to remember who Jack is, what he did, and what he means to her.

What I liked:

There was actually a lot I liked about this series, and I really didn’t expect it to be the way it was. It was quite different from what I usually read. Isis is loud and complicated and has a messed up history with a boy she only calls “nameless”. She has sworn to herself that she’ll never love anyone again, and because of what happened with nameless she doesn’t think she deserves love, nor that anyone could love her the way she is. I actually listened to this book on audio for the first little bit, because that’s how I read the first book and I actually enjoyed the narrators voice. But then I switched back to my physical copy, because I read faster that way.

I was not expecting to love this book as much as I did. But Isis was a character that I just loved. She reminded me of myself ALOT. She was always joking or making herself the butt of the joke. Or she had some snarky comment at the ready. She didn’t like being vulnerable in front of people, especially in front of Jack. But she was willing to do whatever it took for her friends to be happy. She is very much a fighter and very curious by nature. Which is why she continued to dig into her friends pasts to find out what happened all those years ago, despite being told to let it go.
?One of my favorite parts about this book is the relationships. Isis is the new girl and she slowly becomes friends with Kayla, and Wren. Who she does anything to protect. I absolutely loved Kayla and Isis’s friendship. They had each other’s backs. I liked seeing that they were just friends. There was no drama, there was no backstabbing. They just talked like two teenage girls. Sara definitely nails teenage voices. These characters felt real to me. They were perceived in certain ways but they had so many other qualities that made them who they were. Kayla throughout the book was seen as kind of clueless or stupid, but in her own way she was smart. And the author never once put her down for having the qualities or being smart in her own way. I loved that about this series. There was no internal girl bashing for the thing Kayla finds interesting

What left me wanting more:

This does have duel POVs between Isis and Jack, which I really enjoyed. But there was a couple times where there was no indication who was talking. One second it would be Isis and then there would be a page break and it would be Jack. Which confused me, and took awhile for me to get into the head of that person. That being said I really did enjoy the chapters inside Jack’s head. Especially in a love/hate book, I love seeing what the guys is thinking at certain times during their conversations!

I would love to see more growth for Isis in the next book. While I loved the way she was written because I know a lot of girls have the same inner monologue. I would love to see her kind of grow as a person. Grow more into loving herself. And not because other people tell her she should or a certain boy does. But because she realizes she has more worth. I would love it if she started to shut down that inner voice telling her she’s ugly!

More Isis and Jack. They didn’t really get a lot of time together in this book and I am really interested to know what happens between them. To be honest I am absolute trash for love/hate relationships. It’s one of those tropes that I will go down with forever.


Overall Wolf did an amazing job bringing these characters to life. Giving them a voice and keeping it true to a teenage voice. While a lot of what happens in this book is so outrageous, I think people will truly connect and fall in love with Isis. A character who is flawed and hurt and a little bit broken. But who loves and tries her hardest to be a good person for those around her. A lot of women and young women will fall in love with Isis and recognize themselves in her. I quite enjoy this series and definitely recommend it to people who like the whole love/hate trope. Or maybe just like a little bit of what the heck is going on in their books. Sara does an amazing job with the characters, and I for one cannot wait till the third book comes out. Be warned this book does talk about rape, abuse, sex, and drinking. It's nothing graphic but it is mentioned.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."