Review Detail

Ever The Hunted FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 4884
Amazing Fantasy Read!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
CHARACTERS

Britta: She is strong and determined. She has a lot of fight in her for someone who has lost so much. The journey of Britta not only accepting her emotions but also herself and others is a journey you won't soon forget. It rings true and strong, as she fights for what's right even when she knows she must sacrifice something.

Cohen: Seemed nice, supportive even. But while he was struggling not to let her know how he felt, he was distant and fairly rude. Especially after their first encounter after so long. He is strong and intelligent, kind and compassionate, but he sure knows how to pay the bad guy.
PLOT

If you had to find the man who murdered your father and found out said man is one you love (but who left you), would you be able to do it? Britta has no choice in the matter, either having to forfeit her life (and her father's everything), or track down Cohen. With her powers of being able to tell truths from lies, she can't fight the accusations against Cohen, not when they ring true. So the hunt begins.

I love the twists, the surprises. Even when it was predictable, it was still enjoyable to read.

ROMANCE

Is sweet and slow. Britta and Cohen already love each other, but neither truly believes the other can be theirs. Not only that, they also don't want to endanger each other. Especially now that both are watched closely, Cohen being the hunted and Britta the hunter. The closer they get on their journey however, warms the heart as they aren't just physically connected, but also mentally and emotionally. The more we see of them together, the more we get to see of how hard they're trying to hold back. Love isn't easy to deny, but when you believe it's for the right reason, such as protecting that person, you have the willpower to deny it. And seeing that unravel is rather brilliant.

WORLD-BUILDING

Is fantastic! Everything was vivid in my mind, easily visualized and rich in descriptions. Summeril knows what she's doing.

WRITING

The flow was great, the descriptions amazing, and the overall tone was enjoyable to read. I am definitely interested in reading more from this author!

OVERALL

With rich characters and world-building, there's not much to be missed. I was easily hooked and finished the novel quite easily once getting into it.
Good Points
Great characters, world-building, and romance.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 1

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
January 06, 2017
I love the cover so much
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Night of Soldiers and Spies (Ranger in Time #10)
 
4.0
"Ranger travels back in time via a magical first aid kit, and must stay until he figures out how to..."
Emmie and the Tudor King
 
3.0
"What worked: Fast-paced time travel romp through Tudor England. Readers find out what might have happened if Queen Elizabeth I..."
Stolen Time
 
3.0
"STOLEN TIME by Danielle Rollins is the first book of a YA time travel trilogy. It begins when Ash, a..."
Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt
 
3.0
"Time Jumpers: Escape from Egypt offers lengthier chapter book reading, while still offering delightful illustrations more familiar to young readers..."
The Wood
 
3.7
"I bought this by impulse. Seeing as this book was primarily a cover-buy, I did not have many expectations..."
Afterimage
 
4.7
"Feedback This book was not what I expected at all. Camryn is the sole survivor of a horrific explosion..."
Invictus
 
5.0
"Feedback While I enjoy sci-fi books I have only read a couple of time traveling books with this one..."
Tom's Midnight Garden Graphic Novel
 
5.0
"This graphic retelling remains true to the story of the classic 1958 British time slip story. Tom is sent to..."
StarPassage Book 3: Honor & Mercy
 
5.0
"This is an excellent series and book 3 doesn't disappoint. Paranormal activity and time traveling teens visit the past while..."
Invictus
 
4.3
"“Invictus” is a fantastic YA sci-fi adventure. I whole-heartedly agree with Revis’s review which says that it’s Firefly as teenagers..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Fourth World (Iamos Trilogy #1)
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! Fourth World was an interesting futuristic novel set on Mars. It had elements of mystery, dystopia and..."
The Edge of Forever
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF FOREVER by Melissa E. Hurst is the first book of a duology set in 2146. It’s a..."
Many Waters
 
3.0
"The Murray twins take the spotlight for the first time in this book, which actually seems to be taking place..."
The Last Magician
 
5.0
"The Last Magician was a magical and exciting novel set in 1902 that featured time-travel, magic and gangs in New..."
The Wood
 
4.0
"THE WOOD by Chelsea Bobulski is bound to be the next guiltiest pleasure on the market. Complete with time travel,..."
Invictus
 
4.7
"Time-travelling thieves. Who doesn’t want to read about that? Invictus follows Farway Gaius McCarthy, a wannabe time-traveller who was..."
How Oscar Indigo Broke the Universe (and Put It Back Together Again)
 
3.0
"Oscar Indigo is a bad baseball player, but he’s a very good teammate. And he’s committed to his role of..."
Invictus
 
4.0
"Invictus was the first book I've read by Ryan Graudin and I'm really glad I gave it a try. The..."