Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2887
Supernatural at it's best
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
DRAGON MARKED is about a girl named Jessa, who is a wolf shapeshifter. She soon learns though that she is dragon marked. Which places her in grave danger with The Four. Four men whose main job is to hunt and capture those marked by the dragon king. Jessa, along with her best friend (maybe more) Braxton, get locked up in Vanguard. The prison their town protects. After an incident in the prison Jessa goes on the run to escape being locked away forever.

What I liked


Dragons are on of my favorite mythical creatures. I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect from this book, but I was pleasantly surprised to find myself enjoying it. Jessa, a wolf shapeshifter lives in Stratford, a supernatural town hidden away from humans, with her best friends the Compass’. They go to a supernatural school together until they turn the age of 25. Which allows them to graduate and take their place on the council. What I thought was interesting was the way this town was setup. It almost reminded me of Storybook from Once Upon a Time. The town Stratford is hidden away from humans and allows the supernaturals to exist without having to hide what they are. They have a barrier around town that protects the town, as well as the supernatural prison, in case any criminals get out.

Jessa was a character that I’ve seen before, but that didn’t stop me from enjoying getting to know her. She was pretty awesome, she knew how to fight, and put away food. I love seeing women characters who aren’t afraid to be tough and eat! That being said the Compass’ four brothers and Jessa’s best friends, were totally willing and ready to protect Jessa themselves. The dynamic between Jessa and the four brothers was also something that I liked. I also didn’t mind when they stood up for Jessa. Or especially when they had her back as she fought. Which she did often. I really related to Jessa’s attitude. She was a fighter by nature and she didn’t let people hurt those that she loved.

The way that Jaymin talked about sex in this book was one of the best. She didn’t shy away from it and she didn’t act like kids in their 20s weren’t having it. While it didn’t get graphic, it was there. And I honestly loved it. I liked that no one was shamed for having it and no one was shamed for not having it. There were some parts that were a little cringy but overall I liked that this book talked about it in a normal context.

What left me wanting more:

The way they talked. I don’t know why but abbreviating words when you speak is such a pet peeve of mine. So every time they called supernatural supes, made me cringe so much. But after awhile the language starts to grow on you and it didn’t bother me as much anymore. And the one other thing was the way Jessa talked about the other girls in the town. The girls would drool over the Compass boys and Jessa would make a comment about it that bothered me a bit, but after getting deeper into the book, I think her comments were ones born of not wanting to share her boys. Which made the comments a little more understanding.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and how much I became invested in the characters. They made me laugh. I also loved the dynamic between Braxton and Jessa, even if Jessa wasn’t willing to admit to her feelings. There are three books in this series and I actually am going to be picking them up and seeing how it all ends. There is mention of sex in this book, but it’s not graphic at all, and is done really well. If you like dragons and buff boys DRAGON MARKED is a book you should really check out. I’m excited to see where this series goes.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."