Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1839
Loved the Idea of this book.
(Updated: August 21, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I think there were many side tangents that were not important to the story and just didn’t seem to fit (and quite frankly distracted me from the main point of the novel). They just seemed to be thrown into the story (i.e. the war in Iraq, the sexual abuse, the one incident where Leonard was crying, the choking incident, shoplifting, etc). I also was disappointed with the ending. It almost seemed as if the ending of the book was missing .

I did notice on good reads that ‘Absolute Brightness’ was previously released as a much longer book with a different cover titled ‘The Absolute Brightness of Leonard Pelkey’. So I imagine the edition I read maybe a reedited edition.
If this novel was structured differently, I really think this would be an amazing book. I was torn between giving it three and a half or four stars but ended up giving it four, because of the amazing character development.
Karen-Thebookreturn.com
Good Points
Leonard Pelkey is central character of ‘Absolute Brightness’. Leonard is a gay fourteen year old boy who is sent to live with his cousins and newly divorced aunt. Leonard is a larger than life character who doesn’t care what anyone thinks of him. A main example of this is when Leonard makes his signature rainbow high tops by glueing together several pairs of flip-flops.

Phoebe, who is the younger of Leonard’s cousins, tells the story from her point of view. Phoebe, in true teenager fashion, is initially annoyed by Leonard’s presence but she and Leonard soon become close friends.
Leonard also endears himself to the community of elderly clients that come to his aunts home hair salon. So when Leonard suddenly goes missing, the whole town of Neptune, New Jersey is devastated.

The premise of ‘Absolute Brightness’ is both beautiful and heartbreaking. I did love the main outline of the story and Leonard as a character was amazing.
KK
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Elevator Bird
 
5.0
"ELEVATOR BIRD is a cute picture book about making your friends' dreams come true. Elevator Bird is an essential part..."
Arlo the Lion Who Couldn't Sleep
 
5.0
"Arlo tries so hard to fall asleep, but he just can't get comfortable. The ground is too hard, the nights..."
Becoming a Good Creature
 
4.0
"Sy Montgomery and Rebecca Green join forces to create a picture book version of the memoir/nature study, How to Be..."
Jasmine Green Rescues: A Kitten Called Holly (#4)
 
4.5
"When a barn cat has babies, Jasmine and Tom are surprised to find them. They've scared the mother, and she..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Let's Find the Kitten
 
5.0
"LET'S FIND THE KITTEN is a cute hide-and-seek, lift-the-flap board book. Kitten is hiding, but we don't know where. As..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Owl Always Love You
 
5.0
"OWL ALWAYS LOVE YOU is a sweet board book that is made for bedtime. It is a sweet poem about..."
Making Tracks: Desert
 
5.0
"MAKING TRACKS: DESERT is a clever and fun exploration of footprints and desert animals. This book board features animal prints..."
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
"DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs..."
Room on the Broom Push-Pull-Slide
 
5.0
"ROOM ON THE BROOM PUSH-PULL-SLIDE is a delightfully interactive board book sure to enchant toddlers and preschoolers. A witch is..."
Wild Week
 
4.0
"WILD WEEK is a cute board book that features an animal on each day of the week, doing something in..."
Samuel Drew Hasn't a Clue
 
3.5
"SAMUEL DREW HASN'T A CLUE is an overall cute picture book that follows Samuel Drew as he wheels a package..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."