Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1531
a John Hughes film updated for modern audiences
(Updated: July 27, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:
If you’re a big fan of John Hughes films like The Breakfast Club and Pretty in Pink, then Liars and Losers Like Us will work perfectly for you. It features a cast of eclectic personalities, slice-of-life events that tap into the values and lives of modern teenagers, and we even get a homage through Bree’s last name being Hughes! That last point might not have been intentional, but I just made it part of the canon. Hughes’s films could be a bit annoying and overwhelmed by privilege at times, but Allen-Vath avoids that pitfall deftly with conversations like Bree discussing how people treat her once they learn she’s Mexican.

Anyway, Bree makes for a fine narrator and her romance with guitar-playing quarterback Sean is as believable as it is incredibly cute–and the two are such compatible dorks that you’ll be grinning at their banter. Even with that, another character steals the spotlight: Maisey. After years of being bullied and being joke-nominated to the prom court, Maisey commits suicide halfway through the book. A letter she leaves behind for Bree leaves the girl reeling.

In another book, Maisey would be defined only by Bree’s impressions of her and someone’s philosophizing about how no one will ever understand her now that she’s gone. That’s not how Liars rolls. That her death comes only halfway through and Bree is able to see the aftermath of her death allows for a clear picture of who Maisey was and what led her to her decision. Most appropriately, Maisey has the final word; the novel ends with her letter to Bree. That letter makes it easier to understand what Maisey went through and might just make the reader into a better person.

What Left Me Wanting:
Though Maisey’s death is handled well, it creates mood whiplash when combined with the subplots related to Bree’s romance and her preparation for prom. We’ll go from nearly laughing at characters’ banter to thinking about Maisey, creating a hiccup that can be powerful enough to make readers put the book down for a bit. The pacing is uneven with a mild stumble of a start, a deeply compelling middle, and a sixty-page stretch before the climax that slows things down again. Though the mood whiplash accurate depicts how life can be when someone we vaguely know commits suicide, it doesn’t make for a novel that’s easy to read in one sitting.

There are questions left unanswered as well, such as what exactly has gone on in Jane’s life to make her such a horrible person. We get hints toward it, but it isn’t as developed as it could be. Similarly, cracks are visible in Kallie and Bree’s friendship, but they aren’t properly addressed. For instance, Kallie deliberately keeps Bree in the dark about her (Kallie’s) mom’s health, but Bree never pursues it after she finds out about the lie. Casual ableism in the form of “crazy” being overused as a descriptor may bother some readers as well.

(However, it’s worth noting that Ami Allen-Vath is very open about her time spent in psychiatric hospitals as a patient. The ableism is there solely for the sake of capturing teen language. Just worth noting if that’s triggering for you or it’s not something you can handle at certain times.)

Final Verdict:
Liars and Losers Like Us is like a John Hughes film updated for modern audiences and put in book form, but even that isn’t an apt enough description. It’s just good. I connected to it and enjoyed it more than any other prom-related book and it’s just tiny enough to be prime reread material during a reading slump. I’m quite happy to recommend it to readers who want a solid contemporary YA with a classic feel.
Good Points
reminiscent of John Hughes films but with more cultural/social awareness
,very cute romance between Bree and Sean
,Maisey's characterization is incredible and leaves a lasting impression
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
Eve of Man
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
City of Beasts
 
5.0
"CITY OF BEASTS is the must-read dystopian of the fall. Highly recommend for fans of THE DIVERGENT, DARKEST MINDS, and/or..."
The Memory Thief
 
4.7
"THE MEMORY THIEF is an engrossing YA fantasy that will keep you turning pages late into the night. Etta lives..."
Breakout
 
5.0
"BREAKOUT by A.M. Rose is an edge-of-your-seat, YA dystopian adventure that will have you turning page after page well past..."
Breakout
 
4.0
"BREAKOUT is a thrilling and fast-paced YA sci-fi/dystopian. Lezah is in prison for a crime she cannot remember. This future..."
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
 
4.7
"THE LAST VOYAGE OF POE BLYTHE is a fascinating YA fantasy/dystopian that is even better than Condie's Matched series. The..."
Never Fade (The Darkest Minds #2)
 
3.0
""Never Fade" continues the Darkest Minds series with what felt a bit like an intermediate book. Beginning after the end..."
True Born
 
5.0
"“True Born” is one of my new favorites- a really fantastic YA fantasy. Lucinda (aka Lucy and Lu) and her..."
True North (True Born Trilogy)
 
5.0
"“True North” is a fantastic continuation of the True Born series. Lucy is on her own with her parents and..."
True North (True Born Trilogy)
 
3.7
"When her parents take her sister to Russia, Lucy has nobody except the True Born Storm. Lucy agrees to be..."