Review Detail

Ivory and Bone Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1671
A Compelling, Rich Tale
(Updated: June 07, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Ivory and Bone is a compelling read about a boy and a girl as he tells her his side of their story. Through tough times, life and death, and battle, they survive and bonds grow stronger than ever. Happiness was distant in the beginning, but by the end it’s everywhere, even through the tragedy.

This tale starts with Kol as he tells his side of the story, meeting Mya, hunting and almost dying, meeting Lo, Pek and his affections, Shava and her obsessions, and the war. His family is struggling, with food getting scarcer each year and no girls, meaning no reproduction to keep their line alive. But then three visitors come from a neighboring people, and there she is, Mya. We’re pulled in right from the beginning, and it’s easy to lose yourself in the tale since it almost seems as if Kol is speaking to you, the reader. It’s easier to visualize what he recounts, and it makes it seem like a quick read. It’s a compelling, rich prehistoric world that you can’t help but love.

My favourite part of the entire novel is how effortless and real the world seems. You fall into it so easily that you don’t even have time to think about how different it is from real life, you just get sucked in and know of nothing else as you read. It’s as if that world, and those lives, are all you know. It’s brilliant. The world is richly written. It was a bit odd to have such a historic world with modern language though. Getting sucked into the world, it makes everything seem peaceful and old and then it’s jarring to read modern words as they speak to each other. This story wouldn’t work any other way though, and I enjoyed it.

Reading about the people, their families and groups and traditions, was engrossing. I loved learning about their songs, the way they hunt and dress, and how they act. Their hierarchy was interesting as well. Kol hunted mammoths (though he preferred not to), saber tooth cats (though only because they attacked him first), and honey bees so he could gather honey for his tribe. They skinned the animals for pelts, which they made into blankets and clothing and rugs and other materials, then they chopped up the meat for meals, which they ate at the fire as a family, everyone laughing and dancing and singing. They are such peaceful and happy people, without internet and vehicles and buildings and pollution. They have fresh air, nature, and their form of transportation is their feet, or a canoe on the lake. They are strong and admirable, especially as you get to know the characters more.

The war we get a hint of in the synopsis is a dark, dangerous war that did not end without loss or death. It was too easy to get lost in all the action and danger, feeling the urge to join in even though it isn’t real. I was rooting for one side, waiting to see what they would do and what the others would do, and with all the injuries and blood, I was definitely terrified for some characters. Their strength kept them alive, along with their survival skills and knowledge, which was heartening to read, but also heart breaking at times because of how close death came knocking at times.

Ivory and Bone is a compelling, rich tale that sticks with you long after you’ve finished reading it. It’s heartening bonds and strength will make you smile and feel warm. It’s a brilliant, lovely tale about love and losses and the basic human desires.
Good Points
Unique writing style, great character development, interesting world-building
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Aftermath
 
5.0
"Each second of my four years, two months, and seven days in the attic dragged on forever, and nothing ever..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"This is a rich, realistic tale about facing horrors and surviving through the darkness planted in your mind. I was..."
Aftermath
 
4.3
"What worked: This is at times a gut-wrenching, emotional tale of a teen who is found after being abducted. ..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
N/A
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver’s dad kidnapped him and he wasn’t heard from..."
Pointe
 
5.0
"Just after I read Pointe I had a family emergency that took me away from home for a few weeks...."
Emmy & Oliver
 
3.7
"If there’s anything you’re going to take away from this book, or a few other Robin Benway books, is that..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.7
"When they were seven-years-old, Emmy and Oliver were best friends. Then Oliver's dad kidnapped him and he wasn't heard from..."
The Disappearance of Emily H.
 
4.0
"Raine isn't happy that her mother has moved them again, escaping from another not-so-nice boyfriend and "starting over". It means..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
4.5
" I wanted to read Emmy and Oliver because it sounded like an emotionally charged book, and..."
Unaccompanied Minor
 
4.3
"Every once in awhile I come across a book that I just can’t put down. It’s a fun read, a..."
Emmy & Oliver
 
5.0
"First Impressions I got an ARC of Emmy & Oliver from The Regulator Bookshop in February. I saw it..."
Pointe
 
3.7
"What I Liked Theo, short for Theodora, makes a lot of really bad choices. She’s definitely riding on the hot..."