Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 6150
Exciting, addictive and dark
(Updated: June 01, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The book starts off with the four main characters being introduced: Aster, Layla, Tommy and Madison. As a reader, you're introduced to them immediately, all having their own chapters. Alyson Noël knows how to describe the characters, which is why you will have a clear image of them right away... or have you? They all seem to be very good at lying. The chapters are told from each of their perspectives, which is something I really like. One from the rich Aster, on from the cool Layla, the next from the ambitious Tommy and the last one from the one and only super star Madison Brooks. But what does she have to do with the other main characters?

The answer is very simple: Ira Redman organizes a contest. Everybody can join for the search for the best clubpromotor of the Unrivalled clubs. All you have to do is to get famous LA people to get into your club. Coincidentally, Madison Brooks is at the top of that list. But she could never foresee what the consequences of being at the top of that list would be.

The story starts off a bit slow, I have to admit. The plotline is very basic: three young adults fighting for the price and of course things that they never saw coming actually do happen. The main characters get to know themselves and each other better and better throughout the book. Plotlines are being constructed: they're not perfect, but still very promising. I trust Alyson Noël enough to know that she'll come back to that in the sequel. On a side note, that doesn't mean there's no character development yet. I think a couple of characters really go through some change. But that's what LA does to you.

I am still in love with her writing style and the way she depicts the story worlds. The same goes for Unrivaled. Every sentence Alyson writes seems to be coming to life right in front of me. I saw myself walking around LA in a pretty dress while paparazzi is trying to take pictures of me from across the street hidden behind a parked car. Yet at the same time, I also felt very connected to Tommy's world and the shop he works at. It feels as if I actually visited the shop! How cool is that?

In short: I'm a fan of the book! It's not a John Green or Gayle Forman kind of book and it will not make you cry or break your heart into a thousand tiny pieces. The end will give you a tiny heart attack tho, or it will at least make you fall off your bed/couche. Unrivalled ends with a major plottwist! So be prepared!

Unrivalled is an exciting and addicting book that you will keep reading like you will keep watching Gossip Girl on Netflix. The comparison between the two doesn't surprise me at all. If you're looking for a surprisingly thrilling book with a massive amount of glitter and glamour, Unrivalled is you next favorite thing! Immerse yourself in a world full of beautiful lies... and get yourself on the list
Good Points
- Alyson Noel creates a world that comes to life right in from of you
- Very addicting
- Plottwist at the end
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Mightier Than the Sword (Mightier Than the Sword, #1)
 
4.0
"Part mad libs and activity book plus fully developed fictional story, MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD is a delightfully interactive read..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
"Fans of the Explorer Academy series won't want to miss out on this Codebreaking Activity Adventure. Enter into Explorer Academy..."
Bear's Springtime Book of Hidden Things
 
4.0
"Winter is over and Bear is ready to have some springtime fun. First, Bear has to gather everything he needs,..."
Hidden Creatures: Scratch Magic
 
5.0
"HIDDEN CREATURES: SCRATCH MAGIC contains pages with black on them. Some have the whole page and others have designs for..."
Ultimate Sticker Collection: DC Comics Wonder Woman (Ultimate Sticker Collections)
 
5.0
"A charming gift idea for young Wonder Woman fans, with plenty of additional DC universe appeal. This Wonder Woman..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Ultimate Jokes for Kids: 2-in-1 Collection of Awesome Jokes and Road Trip Jokes
 
4.5
"This durable hardback presents a sizable collection of perfectly clean kid’s jokes. There are anywhere from 3-6 jokes per page..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Road Trip Jokes for Kids
 
4.0
"A well-arranged, highly portable collection of kid-friendly jokes. This little paperback book of road trip ready humor is 128..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
Grocery Games! (Shopkins Jumbo Sticker Activity Book)
 
4.0
"For fans of the Shopkins phenomenon, this product has a lot going for it. Vibrant, cheerful, and devastatingly cutsie...."
Use The Force! (LEGO Star Wars: Activity Book)
 
4.5
"Once again LEGO and Star Wars team up to bring young fans a stellar activity book experience. Centering around..."
Big Nate: Doodlepalooza
 
4.0
"Obviously, activity books are not something that I purchase for my library, and they are hard to review, but this..."
LEGO Elves: Dragon Adventures
 
4.0
"An enchantingly vibrant storybook combined with a range of arts and activities. Emily Jones is called out of..."
Attack of the Sky Pirates (LEGO Ninjago: Activity Book with Minifigure)
 
4.5
"Ninjas and Pirates and Djinns… oh my! This 32 page comics and activities book is an engaging cross between..."
LEGO: Nexo Power Rules (LEGO Nexo Knights)
 
5.0
"A techno-magical good time! This 32 page comics and activities book is the perfect cross between an educational magazine..."
Mr. Hare's Big Secret
 
5.0
"Mr. Hare is hungry, and he is sitting under a cherry tree full of ripe fruit, but he has a..."
The Captain Underpants Super-Silly Sticker Studio
 
5.0
"This book is a HUGE hit in my household. My boys love The Captain Underpants series of books, so..."
Where's Waldo Now? The 25th Anniversary Edition
 
4.5
"At this point, I consider myself a Waldo expert. I have found him in almost every adventure, along with his..."
Where's Waldo? The Totally Essential Travel Collection
 
5.0
"This is by far my favorite Waldo edition! All seven books are bound in this travel sized book, perfect for..."
Magical Mix-ups: Friends and Fashion
 
5.0
"I would've loved this book as a child! Not only is it a story involving princesses, castles, witches, and toads,..."