Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1084
Review: Don't Get Caught
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
10:00 tonight at the water tower. Tell no one. -Chaos Club
When Max receives a mysterious invite from the untraceable, epic prank-pulling Chaos Club, he has to ask: why him? After all, he’s Mr. 2.5 GPA, Mr. No Social Life. He’s Just Max. And his favorite heist movies have taught him this situation calls for Rule #4: Be suspicious. But it’s also his one shot to leave Just Max in the dust…
Yeah, not so much. Max and four fellow students-who also received invites-are standing on the newly defaced water tower when campus security “catches” them. Definitely a setup. And this time, Max has had enough. It’s time for Rule #7: Always get payback.
Let the prank war begin.

This book started off by referencing a lot of heist movies and the rules the main character, Max, had learned from watching them. Right away, it caught my interest because I love heist movies and it gave me an immediate connection with Max. I had seen that this book had a Breakfast Club meets Ocean’s 11 feel to it and that just made me more excited because I love both those movies and if this book could pull off the character dynamics like those movies had, I knew it would be great.

Max was a character that I really liked. He was suspicious of the note but went along with it anyway because he was sick of being average, of being unimportant. He was the guy in class that it took a few seconds to remember his name, even if you’d been in the same class together for years. He was our view into the group as they began a prank war of epic proportions and his thoughts often echoed my own on who could be behind the legendary Chaos Club and about the pranks. I liked his struggle between wanting to take down the Chaos Club and not wanting the pranks to go too far. There were many times the interactions between him and Dave had me laughing so hard I was in tears.

The other characters were all well developed. If the book was longer, there likely would have been even more growth, but for non-main characters, I felt like I had a good sense of who they all were. Like in the Breakfast Club, they started off as a stereotype character but the more we, and Max, got to know them, they transformed into more than that. They started to interact with each other more, to help each other, and actually become friends.

The revenge of the Chaos Club and prank war storyline was also great and funny. I completely understood their motivations of wanting to get back at the group that caused them such humiliation and the ensuing prank war was so just much fun to read. I liked that the plot never lost the underlying feel that there were high stakes to their game, even through all the lighter and hilarious moments. I enjoyed trying to figure out who was behind the Chaos Club and all the twists in the plot.

Overall, it was fun to read and I definitely loved all the throwbacks to heist movies. I wouldn’t say no to more from this band of misfits.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
"I know better than to start a Kelly Oram book at bedtime. I know better, yet I do it with..."
Being Jamie Baker (Jamie Baker #1)
 
5.0
"I was never a fan of superheroes growing up, but Kelly Oram creates someone that any reader could relate to...."
Cinder & Ella
 
5.0
"If perfection was possible in literature, Cinder & Ella would be case and point. But alas, reading is subjective so..."