Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 6150
Review: Unrivaled
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have to admit, I was a little nervous going in to this book. It seemed like it would be a mix of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and even The Apprentice, none of which I’ve been a huge fan of, so all three together made me have some doubts. But I surprisingly got sucked into this story so fast and I enjoyed the fast-pace and the characters.

The book was told in four separate POVs that all had very distinctive voices so it was easy to tell who was who. Madison Brooks was the girl who’d already made it, the actress, the girl who already had it all so she had it all to lose. Layla was the reporter who wanted to make a name for herself and exposing celebrities was her way to do it. Tommy was the boy from a small town who’d moved to Hollywood for his music and impress a father who didn’t know he existed. Aster was the girl who wanted to defy family tradition and become an actress. Layla, Tommy, and Aster were among the ones chosen to compete in Ira Redman’s competition. Promote your assigned club, make money, stay in the competition. Don’t and you’re out. I could see the draw for each of the three of them. It meant a lot of connections and a lot of money.

Out of the three competitors, Tommy was my favourite. He was the one I felt I connected to the most, maybe because he seemed the most sincere or maybe the most naive about celebrity life. He also seemed the most honest out of them all. Aster was probably my least favourite. She seemed like the type that would do whatever it took to get what she wanted and it just rubbed me the wrong way. Layla was in between the two. There were times I really liked her and wanted her to succeed but there were other times I felt like she had the potential to be just as cutthroat as Aster. Madison was the one who surprised me the most. I felt the most intrigued by her, the mystery from her past, her struggle to play the fame game, to remain relevant.

The competition was a lot of fun to read. It was interesting to see the ideas the characters would come up with and it was impossible not to play along in my head, who was better, who would fail, who should be cut, come up with better ideas. It was a pretty quick read, most of the book set within the competition and getting to know the three competitors, but around the 65% mark the mystery that happened in the prologue really set in and it started to become twist after twist. By that point I was really absorbed and I just kept reading without looking at the number of pages that were left so when I got to the end, I was surprised that I’d read it so fast.

It did a great job setting up the characters and the mystery for the next book. I am definitely going to keep going with the series.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Once Upon a Space-Time (#1)
 
4.0
"There are human kids who are studying at the Earth School for Space Mission Preparation in the year 2216. They..."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.0
"It's hard work being a super hero, but it's even harder work when you are the side kick to an..."
The Amazing Beef Squad: Never Say Die!
 
5.0
"Of COURSE, Stupidball games always end badly, but this doesn't stop friends Hogue, Jared, Pratchett and our narrator Nick Rhodes..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."
Confessions of a Class Clown
 
5.0
"Jack Reynolds is the sort of kid that teachers put in the back of the classroom-- surrounded by all of..."
Stick Dog Crashes a Party (#8)
 
4.5
"Stick Dog and his friends are hungry. After a hilarious episode with a ketchup packet, they decide to go and..."
Stick Dog Slurps Spaghetti (#6)
 
4.5
"These books appeal to everyone from strong emergent readers and stressed middle schoolers to librarians who have a secret desire..."
Stick Dog (Stick Dog #1)
 
4.5
"Stick Dog lives under a bridge and is quite happy there. He hangs out with his dog friends, Mutt, Poo-poo..."
Stick Dog Takes Out Sushi (#11)
 
5.0
"The dogs are hungry, but trying to distract themselves with naps. This doesn't work, and when Mutt shakes some out..."
Heroes Level Up (Homerooms & Hall Passes #2)
 
5.0
"Albiorix and his crew are having a great time being back in Bríandalör, successfully completing a lot of quests, but..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."
Stick Dog Meets His Match (#10)
 
5.0
"As the soft, fragrant warmth of spring strips the chill from Stick Dog's world, he and his friends approach the..."
Frankenstein Doesn't Wear Earmuffs!
 
4.0
"This Halloween season, it is very cold, but Frankenstein still wants to participate in the Halloween festivities. However, his parents..."
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
"What worked: This is a fun paranormal twist on historical figures set in the Wild West of 1876. I loved..."
My Weird School Special: We’re Red, Weird, and Blue! What Can We Do?
 
5.0
"It's February, which A.J. considers to be the worst month of all. It's hard to spell, teachers want to celebrate..."
The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
 
5.0
"FEEDBACK I honestly don’t even know where to start. Originally I read this book because I got an advanced..."
The Bad Guys in the Baddest Day Ever (The Bad Guys #10)
 
4.5
"Snake is dead, and the Bad Guys, as well as the League of Heroes, are gathered for the funeral. Faced..."
Pig the Tourist
 
5.0
"PIG THE TOURIST features our beloved pug named Pig while he goes on vacation. The only thing is that he..."