Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1407
Give Me A Hardcover of This, and I'll Marry You.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The first time I read this book, I fell in love. It takes the first chapter for me to smile, and I happily devour the book without a single care for the world. Mythology, mythology, and mythology is like catnip for me. I can't resist it, and I will always come after it. Whether or not I like it is another question, but I'm confident enough to say that I like this catnip.

YA High Fantasy, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN has wonderful prose, a beautiful use of words, and a lovely, almost poetic style. It's what draws me into the book in the first place (along with the main character, Maya, whose narration is really enticing). It grabs onto the reader tightly, and it doesn't let go (and I doubt anyone wants to let go). From the very first words and the beginning, I can't help but smiling and admire Maya's personality and strength that is shown through her dialogue and internal thoughts.

Maya has a cursed horoscope. (I admit that I'm not too into horoscope, but Maya's horoscope is particularly interesting because she is predicted to be in a marriage of death and destruction.) It isn't the only thing about Maya. No, Maya is trapped in a royal life and subjected to be obeying the whims of her husband and brothers and father. She longs for choices, and the second she has a choice, she begins to make her move and become... Well, larger than life itself. A legend, really.

The romance is a vital part of the story, and I absolutely adore it. It's similar to old myths and fairy tales yet also an unique animal of its own. Familiar stories that immediately come to mind are "Beauty and the Beast," "Cupid and Psyche," but especially "Persephone and Hades." It's a strange mix between them all, as if Chokshi has taken bits and parts to make her own story. But nevertheless, the romance will draw you in.

The story begins at the very word, and I'm enchanted from the riddles to its compelling mystery to its curious male lead with a certain aura around him. Magic is everywhere and in the very words of this novel.

The ending is perfect. It's a nice conclusion that leaves me wishing for a sequel yet also afraid, because I don't want a sequel that might ruin this standalone. But I want more of the flesh-eating horse, the tragic villain, the main character, the prose, the setting of an ancient world with kingdoms clinging close to the fate the stars reveal... And I could go on and on and on, but you get my point, right?

In conclusion, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN is perhaps the best book I've read in 2016 so far. Hands down. With a delicious and spellbinding romance and its beautiful setup and roots in fairy tales, THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN will leave you satisfied yet also craving for more.

Rating: Five out of Five
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Bound (The Honors, #2)
 
5.0
"HONOR BOUND is an electrifying and thrilling YA sci-fi sequel. Zara, Beatriz, and Nadim are on the run from an..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
4.7
"GODDESS IN THE MACHINE is a compelling YA sci-fi that follows Andra after she is woken up from cryo'sleep. Andra..."
Deathstrike (Ultraball #2)
 
4.0
"After narrowly avoiding disaster in Ultraball, the Miners (coached by Strike) are back for a new season. When the team..."
The Sound of Stars
 
4.0
"THE SOUND OF STARS takes place after the Earth has been invaded and overtaken by the Ilori. The book follows..."
OtherLife
 
4.0
"OTHERLIFE is the third book in the Last Reality Series by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller. This YA Sci-Fi novel..."
The Bad Guys in the Baddest Day Ever (The Bad Guys #10)
 
4.5
"Snake is dead, and the Bad Guys, as well as the League of Heroes, are gathered for the funeral. Faced..."
Aurora Rising
 
5.0
"I could not sit Aurora Rising down! This is the first book by the writing duo Amie Kaufman & Jay..."
Imagine Me (Shatter Me #6)
 
5.0
"Have you ever been so blown away by a series that you don't even know how to put all your..."
Bloom (The Bloom Trilogy #1)
 
5.0
"Anaya has horrible allergies to everything; plants, food, animals. They also cause her to have terrible acne, and she is..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."
Neffatira's First Challenge
 
5.0
"The descriptions are very beautiful and you can perceive the feelings of the characters to the point of empathy. ..."
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
"The wait is finally over! SENECA ELEMENT by Rayya Deeb is now available. As a huge fan of SENECA REBEL,..."
Midnight on Strange Street
 
4.0
"The town of Callaway, Texas, is a refuge from the global war that is going on and affecting Los Angeles...."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
The End and Other Beginnings: Stories from the Future
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Eve of Man
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."