Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 6150
Unrivaled
(Updated: March 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Dark, gritty view of LA celeb scene and the true cost of fame. Unrivaled introduces readers to three protagonists, each wanting to become famous. Layla, wants to go to journalism school, and accepts an invite to Unrivaled in hopes that it'll help with the cost of college; Aster, wants to be famous but her over protective parents stand in the way; Tommy, wants to be a famous musician like his father who knows nothing about him. All accept the invite. All face the idea that they might have to bend the rules in order to win. But at what cost?

What worked: This totally reminded me of LA Gossip Girls meets The Apprentice. Only in this case, the participates are given the responsibility to manage nightclubs and bring in important celeb clientele. Ira is the one in charge of this operation. He's ruthless to the point of encouraging the participates to do everything they can in order to win a chance of being in charge of one of his night clubs. I was hooked right at the start! Only after I really got into the story did I realize this story was more Pretty Little Liar with it's own A. Readers are kept guessing what mystery is behind teen celeb Madison and her 'disappearance'. Plus, there's more going on here. Lying, cheating, and scheming are nothing when it comes to getting fame.

The chapters alternate between the three main players. Layla has the heart of a journalist and hates that she has to lower herself to paparazzi level by reporting on celebs. In this case her anti-Madison comments in her blog end up getting her viewer hits but it's not until later, when she realizes she really wants to win the Unrivaled spot, does her true character come out.

Aster at first comes across as a spoiled, entitled teen. I think out of all the main characters, her portrayal has the most growth. Not saying she's that likable, because really she's not, but readers see her weaknesses and vulnerabilities that make her not so much of a Mean Girl.

Tommy's vulnerabilities revolve around his 'secret'. His nice Oklahoma guy personality is tested more than a few times.

There's a huge mystery involved too. Who exactly is Madison? What is she hiding from? And what part does she in fact have in her own disappearance. Nothing is what it seems. It's like a Hollywood reality show that has gone terribly wrong.

Dark, gritty, and highly addictive, this series is sure to wrap it's tale around readers. Pretty Little Liar meets The Apprentice set in the dark underside of Hollywood. How far would you go to get a piece of fame?

Good Points
1. Pretty Little Liars meets The Apprentice
2. Gritty view of LA
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Lots of the time if a book has a mystery I figure it out far before..."
Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol Kara Martinez has been trying to be "normal" ever since the accident that took her father's..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM When Kara was 11 she lost her father in a tragic..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM (Please not this book was in ACR format when read) ..."