Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 6513
Unrivaled
(Updated: March 29, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Dark, gritty view of LA celeb scene and the true cost of fame. Unrivaled introduces readers to three protagonists, each wanting to become famous. Layla, wants to go to journalism school, and accepts an invite to Unrivaled in hopes that it'll help with the cost of college; Aster, wants to be famous but her over protective parents stand in the way; Tommy, wants to be a famous musician like his father who knows nothing about him. All accept the invite. All face the idea that they might have to bend the rules in order to win. But at what cost?

What worked: This totally reminded me of LA Gossip Girls meets The Apprentice. Only in this case, the participates are given the responsibility to manage nightclubs and bring in important celeb clientele. Ira is the one in charge of this operation. He's ruthless to the point of encouraging the participates to do everything they can in order to win a chance of being in charge of one of his night clubs. I was hooked right at the start! Only after I really got into the story did I realize this story was more Pretty Little Liar with it's own A. Readers are kept guessing what mystery is behind teen celeb Madison and her 'disappearance'. Plus, there's more going on here. Lying, cheating, and scheming are nothing when it comes to getting fame.

The chapters alternate between the three main players. Layla has the heart of a journalist and hates that she has to lower herself to paparazzi level by reporting on celebs. In this case her anti-Madison comments in her blog end up getting her viewer hits but it's not until later, when she realizes she really wants to win the Unrivaled spot, does her true character come out.

Aster at first comes across as a spoiled, entitled teen. I think out of all the main characters, her portrayal has the most growth. Not saying she's that likable, because really she's not, but readers see her weaknesses and vulnerabilities that make her not so much of a Mean Girl.

Tommy's vulnerabilities revolve around his 'secret'. His nice Oklahoma guy personality is tested more than a few times.

There's a huge mystery involved too. Who exactly is Madison? What is she hiding from? And what part does she in fact have in her own disappearance. Nothing is what it seems. It's like a Hollywood reality show that has gone terribly wrong.

Dark, gritty, and highly addictive, this series is sure to wrap it's tale around readers. Pretty Little Liar meets The Apprentice set in the dark underside of Hollywood. How far would you go to get a piece of fame?

Good Points
1. Pretty Little Liars meets The Apprentice
2. Gritty view of LA
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Revenge of the Red Club
 
5.0
"Riley is an investigative reporter for her very realistic and small school newspaper. She loves to write and wants to..."
Home is Where the Heart Is (Good Dog #1)
 
5.0
"In the first book in this charming new early chapter book series, we meet Bo, who lives on a farm..."
Rescue at Lake Wild
 
5.0
"Madi and her friends Aaron and Jack live in Willow Grove, a small town where they are able to go..."
Who Put This Song On?
 
4.7
"In a small, very white town, Morgan is trapped in the expectations and assumptions of everyone around her. She hasn't..."
girl stuff
 
4.0
"Fonda is super excited that her best friends and neighbors (nesties!) will be going to her middle school for 7th..."
A Collie Called Sky (Jasmine Green Rescues #3)
 
4.5
"Jasmine lives on a farm in England with her mother, who is a veterinarian, her father, who raises sheep, younger..."
Love & Olives (Love & Gelato #3)
 
4.0
"Olive Varanakis's father was obsessed with the lost city of Atlantis, and since he was born and raised on the..."
Jasmine Green Rescues: A Kitten Called Holly (#4)
 
4.5
"When a barn cat has babies, Jasmine and Tom are surprised to find them. They've scared the mother, and she..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Yara's Spring
 
5.0
"Yara and her younger brother Saad are in a refugee camp in Jordan in 2016, waiting to hear what their..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Storm Dog
 
4.0
"Ariel has a difficult home life in her Blue Ridge Mountain home in Virginia. It's not because of economics; her..."
Wrong Way Summer
 
4.0
"Claire's father has always been evasive when it comes to answering questions about her mother, who left the family when..."
That's Not What Happened
 
4.7
"WHAT I LOVED: There have been countless school shootings in the United States and hundreds if not thousands of..."
Like Sisters on the Homefront
 
4.7
"Top 3 reasons to read LIKE SISTERS ON THE HOMEFRONT: 1.) The characters- Gayle, a NYC girl sent to..."