Review Detail

Eerie Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2238
Supernatural Monsters
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Let's dig into EERIE, a YA Paranormal/Supernatural Romance novel. It is centered around a girl named Hailey, whose sister has been found brutally murdered. But that isn't all that's strange about her. She gets dreams at night, and monster hunts her by day. In the beginning, the book has captured my attention and I follow along its plot until I reach the end. And it isn't as much as a roller coaster as I thought it would be.

The perspective of the novel is told from third person. The book flips from narrator to narrator, and each one of them provides an unique look of the book's world. Hailey is the outsider, the one who has never really known the world of the supernatural/paranormal and provides the audience surrogate. Asher is an outworldly Envoy, whose motives are clear but actions are not. Finn, a former friend of Hailey's, is pulled by multiple strings, and his path is so muddled by chances, fate, and opportunity but lit up by love. Out of all these heads and perspectives, I prefer Finn the most, who is very complex but also the most human.

The story starts with a mystery and continues with the supernatural. Hailey herself is hunted by an immoral, immortal monster devoid of feelings but desperate enough to kill. The concept, the world building, the setting the book has is intriguing, and I would love the author to dive much deeper into the world. There's so many questions I have in my mind, and I'm unfortunately unable to gather any answers. But the author does a great job of diving into the smaller but also endearing details of the story.

There's a love triangle in this book. Of course, I have favorites (who doesn't?) and I have already told you who they are (Team Finn). Asher is an Envoy, who is said to be incapable of feeling anything. But he feels something for Hailey. Though Asher and Hailey's relationship remains to be a huge part of the book, I find Finn and Hailey much more fascinating thanks to its flawed, imperfect nature. Besides, the relationship of Fin and Hailey is much more equal when you compared to Asher and Hailey.

The plot largely centers around Hailey. For the exposition, it unfolds steadily as you go through the novel, and everything that the story has built up goes crazy in the climax. I freely admit that the ending is chaotic. Nothing is certain, and the book ends at a sudden, too sudden note. I'm left frantically flipping the pages for the answers once again.

Overall, EERIE is an unique novel about dreams, monsters, and feelings. Developed on a strange, almost dream-like world, EERIE is for those who enjoy romance with a dash of the forbidden.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Bud, Not Buddy
 
4.7
"Bud not Buddy is awesome! im in year 9 and im reading it in school for an assignment. On the..."
Before I Fall
 
5.0
"Love this book! One of my favorites."
Speak
 
3.7
"It's a fast read."
 
2.7
""Pretties" is a continuation of the Uglies series where Tally Youngblood has now returned to the city and become a..."
The Adoration of Jenna Fox (Jenna Fox Chronicles #1)
 
3.0
""The Adoration of Jenna Fox" is the story of a teenager who wakes up from a coma without any memories..."
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack #1)
 
4.7
"This first-person present-tense piece of historical YA fiction begins a bit like a Charles Dicken’s work—eighteenth-century London, poor destitute orphan,..."
Shiver (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #1)
 
3.7
"This one took a while to get into. I didn't warm much to Grace. She didn't seem to have much..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
5.0
"Definitely the reason why I decided to reread this was because of the show. and now that I finished reading..."
Thirteen Reasons Why
 
3.7
"Thirteen Reasons Why (stylised as Th1rteen R3eason Why) follows shy high school teenager Clay Jensen. Clay has received a..."
Tiger Eyes
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars A great and emotional read. A young teenage girl; Davey struggles with the loss of her father..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
" 4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane..."
The Lonely Hearts Club
 
4.0
"4.5 Stars! This was a fun and sweet read. Definitely for fans of contemporary ya books. Penny Lane is..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.0
DA Dragon Authors
"I (Erin) bought this one as a “blind date” from Malaprops. They wrap books in brown paper and write things..."
 
4.0
"The Deathday Letter by Shaun David Hutchinson is a young adult standalone novel. This is not the first book by..."
 
3.3
"Nick O’Leary, the straight bass player in queercore punk band, is playing at a club in downtown Manhattan when he..."
 
5.0
"This is not one of my favorite books, it's a bit too sad for me. I will say that this..."
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush #1)
 
3.3
"When I first read this book in 2010 I hated it. I thought it was overrated and boring. It also..."
The Dead Girls' Dance (The Morganville Vampires #2)
 
5.0
"This installment starts right where Glass Houses ended, which is great because now we have no time lapse to try..."
Angus, Thongs & Full Frontal Snogging (Confessions of Georgia Nicolson #1)
 
4.7
"I love this series more than life itself. Georgia is hilarious and someone we can all relate to. Non-stop..."
 
3.7
"As the title suggests The Diary of a Part-Time Indian is written in a first person episodic diary format. The..."