Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 985
A grimmer, eerier, weirder, sadder, scarier, BETTER version of The Babadook
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
White is for Witching is a weird little story, and at the same time, it strikes a chord that anyone can recognize. Loss. Tragedy. Grief. Most of us have experienced it at one point or another, and if not quite yet, then will experience it. Have you seen the movie that came out towards the end of 2014, called The Babadook? Well, this book reminded me of that movie in some ways. In both, we see a grieving family trying to cope and live with their individual losses. Take The Babadook, add more, much more to it, and you may have a little bit of taste of White is for Witching. It's grimmer, sadder, eerier, weirder, scarier, darker, BETTER.

This book is about Miranda Silver, and her twin brother Eliot, her friend Ore, her father Luc, the housekeeper Sade, and a few others. It's about the house where they all live. It's about Miranda's mother who has passed away. It's about Luc's struggle to find a balance between his grief over losing his wife, and the need to stay strong for his teenage children, one of whom, Miranda, is suffering from a rare mental illness called the Pica. Miranda feels an urge to consume things that are not really edible food. She would rather have a plastic spoon or a ball of chalk any day over the delicious meals Luc prepares for her. And then there's Eliot, her twin brother, who is also grieving, but has no room to show it while stuck between Luc and Miranda, with nowhere else to go.

The absence of Lily Silver, the mother of the twins, is felt throughout the book. Lily was like a buffer; her presence had always smoothed over the real problems in their 4-person family-- the unusual attachment between the twins, Luc's awkwardness with the children. She tied them all together; she kept them normal. She kept them sane. But now she was gone, and the void left by her was creeping up on all the rest of the inhabitants of the house where they all lived. Did Lily shield them from the monster that lived in the house as well? Was everything that they knew simply an illusion of happiness? Were they happy or safe in the first place?

I really don't know how to talk more about this book without giving away the plot; so I won't even try. All I'll say is that you will find a lot of parallels in this story. Is this a horror story? Is this a story about human relationships? Is it about dealing with death? Is it about living with a mental illness? Where is the line that separates sanity from insanity. When one person is sick, how do the others in a family stay normal? Are monsters real? Or are we all monstrous beings waiting for the opportunity to bare our fangs? I guess each individual will interpret this story differently, based on his/her experiences. But that's what makes this book so unique, so great.

All I have left to say is that-- Go read this book. If you like dark, gothic tales of monsters and madness, go read it. If you like family drama, death, sadness, tragedy, go read it. If you like a gut wrenching love story, well, this may not exactly be "gut wrenching", but still, go read it. If you like to read a book and after finishing it look around to make sure all the lights are on in the house, go read it. Just go read it. Like, NOW!
Good Points
Unique, original story
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."