Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1147
Creepy Rain Scares the Crap Out of Me
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I think I want to lay off Apocalypse stories for a little while. (But I'm not going to, because they are really exhilarating and exciting to see. As horrifying and blood-curling as a horror movie, and it's irresistible. It's a wreck, but I can't glance away. I need to know what happens next in the story.) Anyway, in this book, water is the source of what's making people sick. Contaminated water kills most of the population, and Ruby is one of the lucky ones who survive.

After reading this book, I'm officially scared of rain. (Well, only for a few days or so.) In the last few days of weird SoCal weather, it was raining. And I just finished reading the book. So whenever I look up at the sky, I get the shivers. Thank you, Virginia Bergin, for instilling an irrational fear of water and rain for the next few days after reading H2O. It has been a few pleasant days of wind, rain, lightning, and thunder in Southern California for me. (Yes, I stayed indoors most of the time and avoided being in the rain.)

The plot starts off with a lot of deaths, and the disease that is striking most of the population dead is really scaring me. There is something so wrong about the idea of poisoned rain, water. Water is life. Water lets us continue on. Bad water is dangerous water. My stomach always churns whenever I think of poisoned water. And even more so thanks to H2O. The action-packed plot marches on with these revelations, and Ruby is pushed to her limits. The worst of humanity is revealed, and Ruby has to face all of it with a priority on her own survival.

Ruby is a very strong character. It takes her a little while for her to get over the shock of everyone dying, but once she realizes that she can only save herself (and her biological father, if she finds him soon enough), she begins to move. She has a plan, and she clings to it tightly. She never lets anything get her down very long, and I have to admire her strength and her determination.

The ending is one of the more interesting parts. I can't wait to see more of H2O's world, and I can't wait to see what happens next. Ruby's adventure is just starting, and it's so exciting (despite how creepy poisoned rain is).

Overall, H2O is a thrilling story about a girl trying to survive the end of the world. The concept of poisoned waters and contaminated rain is clever and has given me nightmares while SoCal was raining a few days ago. The plot moves quickly, and the narrator's voice is very distinctive. I would suggest this book to anyone who loves Apocalypse novels.

Rating: Four out of Five
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

DC Super Hero Girls: Powerless
 
4.0
"When a sudden power outage strikes Metropolis, the Superhero Girls are thrown for a loop, especially Batgirl aka Babs. She..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Nightshade (Alex Rider #12)
 
5.0
"Alex is settling back into school with his best friend Tom, trying to forget all of the missions he's been..."
Indestructibles: Let's Go Outside!
 
5.0
"LET'S GO OUTSIDE is a delightful book designed with babies in mind. The book takes the reader through a brief..."
Goldenhand (Abhorsen #5)
 
4.0
"Nix dives back into the Abhorsen series with the same quality and intrigue we’ve come to expect from this world..."
DC Super Hero Girls: At Metropolis High
 
3.0
"SUPER HERO GIRLS brings us Batgirl, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Green Lantern, Bumblebee, and Zatanna as teenagers. When they aren't trying..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"I’m not going to lie….I read The Burning Shadow in two days. It could’ve been one sitting if my eyelids..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
5.0
"THE BURNING SHADOW is a fantastic and thrilling continuation of the spin-off Origin series. Just like the original series, there..."
The Athena Protocol
 
4.0
"THE ATHENA PROTOCOL was a fantastic YA spy/thriller that pulls you in from the start. Jessie is an agent of..."
The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe
 
4.7
"THE LAST VOYAGE OF POE BLYTHE is a fascinating YA fantasy/dystopian that is even better than Condie's Matched series. The..."
A Torch Against The Night
 
5.0
"A fantastic sequel, "A Torch Against the Night" begins exactly where "An Ember in the Ashes" leaves off. Laia and..."
The Disasters
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a high energy soap opera romp through space. Think Breakfast Club meets Firefly. There's action, suspense,..."
The Hundredth Queen
 
2.7
"This book is not appropriate for the 12+ age range. More like 17+. The basic plot revolves around orphaned girls..."
The Burning Maze (The Trials of Apollo, #3)
 
5.0
"Apollo, now known as a human teenager named Lester, must restore five Oracles that have gone dark in order to..."
The Hundredth Queen
 
5.0
"The Hundredth Queen is a vibrant tale of a reluctant heroine cast into a fascinating world of danger and palace..."
Nimona
 
5.0
"Oh my gosh!!!!!!! This is the cutest graphic novel I have read in a long time! Cute and entertaining and..."
Time Tracers
 
5.0
"Taj is confused when he wakes up to what's supposed to be the first day of summer break, but instead,..."