Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1439
A creep-tastic thrill ride!
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I picked up CATACOMB by Madeleine Roux. It’s the final book of the ASYLUM trilogy and looked pretty spooky or creepy. Have you seen the cover?! Tell me that doesn’t look creepy! Let me just say, the cover is the perfect mood setter. Yes, creeptastic or sure.

Catacomb picks up several months after Book Two of the series, Sanctum. Dan, Abby, and Jordan are on their way down to Louisiana over summer break. Jordan has decided to move in with his uncle who lives in New Orleans. Sort of a new start after all the crazy that happened in Asylum and Sanctum The trio thought their days of dangerous, near death battles were over. Oh, how wrong they were…

From the first page, I was super hooked on this story. There’s enough of backstory peppering to get the gist of what they barely escaped from in the last books, but not too much to distract from their new battle. Jordan is desperate to start over in New Orleans. Abby is determined to finish her photo project and uncovering more of an allusive prohibition gangster of old. Dan just wants to be with his friends while he can. Little did they know all of their pieces would come together. Dan’s parents have a sorted past, and if they keep digging, it will become his present.

I love, love, LOVE how Roux uses actual photographs within the story. It really amps up the creep factor. I don’t care of it’s a simple photo of an abandoned building or a stone carving. They way the pictures are used gives them life or a story of their own. They live within the pages. Some of them gave me chills. I think because they are real. The story may be fiction, but the added media of real photographs makes you think twice about that whole fiction/non-fiction line.

Dan is also an incredible character. His voice is clear and distinct. But not overdone in the boy department. He’s not too much of a smarty that seems to be the norm in YA books. He’s just a kid trying to make sense of his past, and figure out how that works into his present and future. Dan internalizes. A lot. Most times when he shouldn’t, and that’s the heart of his story. Watching him learn to trust in others and allow them to be a part of his search for truth is fantastic. Abby and Jordan are perfect compliments to Dan. Abby is the heart of their trio, Jordan is the brain, and Dan is the guts, the drive.

Catacomb is a fast-paced read that anyone can enjoy. The characters are wonderfully “teen” and have many relatable qualities. It actually bummed me out when I drew near to the end, but that didn’t stop me from devouring these pages. The story twists and turns, drops some major plot bombs that will give you whiplash of the best kind, and it will no doubt creep you out. The settings are superb, especially when we get to New Orleans. Roux brings out everything that is beautiful, nostalgic, and down right freaky about the city. It will certainly make you think twice about those quirky nick-knack shops and where they really get their wares.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."