Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 857
If you liked The Crucible, you’ll love this YA re-imagining of the Salem Witch Trials.
(Updated: February 10, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
If you liked The Crucible, you’ll love this YA re-imagining of the Salem Witch Trials.

Elizabeth is sixteen, and she and her family have been hiding the fact that she’s a witch her entire life. There’s a good reason: they live in Salem, and it’s the late 1600’s. Theocracy rules, and any citizen who stands out seems not only peculiar but suspicious. The town is religiously extreme, isolated, and one false accusation of witchcraft away from mass hysteria, which is where DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND opens.

Ever wonder what would’ve happened during the Salem Witch Trials if there actually WERE a witch in town? I know I did. DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND serves up some well-imagined supernatural justice without destroying the emotionally unsettling mob-mentality phenomenon in 17th century Salem Village. With all of the historically accurate figures playing their role, Eagar injects into the town an actual witch, whose most “supernatural” facet at times is ironically, her reason.

There were exactly two moments in the story, when I wished Elizabeth would would’ve shown more compassion for the gravity of injustice that was happening. To me, it seemed as if she’d too quickly dismissed her horror at the looming executions. Other than those two moments, I found the characters perfectly lovable or hateable and even more perfectly developed as the story progressed. The writing suited me. The dialogue was genuine. And the ending left just enough mystery. My skim factor was low.

With a touch of romance, plenty of action, and more than one heart-rending betrayal, DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND is a great supernatural YA read that had me glued to the pages.

For me, DEVIL’S PLAYGROUND fixed something emotional that THE CRUCIBLE had broken. 5 stars.

*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
Good Points
A page-turner. Emotionally satisfying. Complex characters. Beautiful writing.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
Firebrand (Steeplejack #2)
 
4.7
"Now working as a private detective/spy, Ang may be living a financially healthier life than her years a steeplejack, but..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
4.3
"I really enjoyed reading the first book in this series, Front Lines, so I was really excited for this sequel...."
The Turncoat's Gambit
 
5.0
"THE TURNCOAT’S GAMBIT by Andrea Cremer is the conclusion of an alt-history trilogy that examines the what-ifs of a failure..."
Silver Stars (Front Lines)
 
5.0
"Just wowza. I'm a huge fan of FRONT LINES, the first book in the series. This series is an..."
Wolf By Wolf
 
4.3
"Intriguing take on 'what would have happened if Hitler had won the war'. Add to that a wicked paranormal..."
Smoke
 
3.0
"In historical England, people give off Smoke. It is generally accepted that this Smoke is a product of sin, and..."
Plus One
 
4.0
"Elizabeth Fama sets her novel, PLUS ONE, in a segregated world where half of the population lives and works in..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
3.7
"History has taken an awful twist in THE ONLY THING TO FEAR. Hitler and his cronies have taken over the..."
Front Lines
 
4.7
"I usually avoid reading WWII novels, whether they are young adult or non-fiction, because I don’t like how they all..."
Front Lines
 
4.0
"An alternate history story of World War 2 where women are eligible to be drafted after a court ruling. Front..."
Front Lines
 
5.0
"In this alternate history, women are subject to being drafted and can enlist during World War II. Three of the..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.0
"In the year 1818, Alasdair Finch lives in a world where men have mechanical parts and live hidden away with..."
Newt's Emerald
 
4.7
"Regency London? Check. Magic? Check. Adventures? Check. Cross-dressing girls? Check. I wasn’t sure..."
Ink And Bone: The Great Library
 
3.3
"Travel Companion: If we traveled with the main character Jess Brightwell, he would be: The Scholar ..."
Ink And Bone: The Great Library
 
4.7
"Rachel Caine delivers an intriguing new series in an alternative world where the Great Library of Alexandria has survived. ..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
4.3
"This was one book I enjoyed thoroughly. I saw the cover and was interested right away. The tagline, all's fair..."
Rebel Mechanics
 
5.0
"I absolutely adored Rebel Mechanics. The voice is so strong throughout the story, and there is a perfect amount of..."
The Only Thing to Fear
 
4.7
"The Only Thing to Fear is one of the quickest reads this year. Caroline Tung Richmond takes a unique spin..."
Plus One
 
3.3
"First, let me start by stating the obvious: this cover is beautiful! I have to say it is one of..."