Review Detail

Identity Crisis Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1991
Crisis
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I receive a copy in exchange for an honest review.

The internet is a scary place for many people. We hear a lot of things about a man selling something on Craigslist and then butchering people when they approach him for a sweet buy. We hear about mysterious scammers in Nigeria taking hundreds of thousands of dollars from unsuspecting individuals. But what we haven't heard is the emotional toll on these victims. And that is where IDENTITY CRISIS comes in.

Catfishing is a very serious crime. (Please don't think that this is a light prank. There is nothing light and funny about this prank.) Noelle and her friends cruelly decides to play a nasty "prank/joke" on Annalise by catfishing her. While Annalise thinks she is talking to this cute boy who likes the exact same things she likes, Noelle knows better. And shoving down most of her guilt, Noelle continues the prank her friends started. It's a cruel thing, and kids... are sometimes very nasty to one another.

The prank is almost bullying. Is bullying, actually.

From the very beginning, it is so clear that Noelle is doomed once Annalise finds out. Despite knowing the ending, I can't help but chew my nails out in anticipation and continue reading for the prank's inevitable downfall and its conclusion. Will Annalise forgive? Will Noelle feel regret? What will these two girls do now? It's an addicting storyline that shows the rise of the prank, the discovery, and the reconstruction of the girls' relationship.

Annalise is a character with less development when compared to Noelle. Of course, readers can't help but root for Annalise when she is being catfished and horribly humiliated. Then there is Noelle, who is wrangled into the entire conflict because of her friends. Noelle, who feels undeniably guilty for being a part of this, has a problem with her conscience, and she is unable to say a thing when Annalise discovers everything. Noelle (who is a narrator/character I strongly empathize and understand) gets into heaps of trouble, and she really does be better. Noelle is a far more complex and interesting character than Annalise.

The ending is perhaps the weakest part of the book. It rushes the story, and Annalise (too) quickly forgives Noelle for catfishing. It seems to be a huge letdown for angst. (It also makes this story for a little light reading, but I'm utterly disappointed that no one is punished. Catfishing... It's dangerous, not all fun and games.)

Overall, IDENTITY CRISIS is told from the perspective of two girls. It has an awesome and nail-biting plot, and the conflict is simply irresistible. Noelle is a character most readers can probably empathize with. The story is unique, and it's definitely for those who are looking for something out of the ordinary.

Rating: Three out of Five
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INHERITANCE GAMES is a twisty mystery full of unique characters. Avery Grambs is living out of her car after..."
The Lovely and the Lost
 
5.0
"THE LOVELY AND THE LOST follows Kira, a girl who was once found by search and rescue (SAR) and who..."
Little White Lies
 
4.0
"LITTLE WHITE LIES by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is a novel mashup of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars set in..."
The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
 
4.7
"Highly recommended - Hoping for a sequel."
The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The Fixer is one of the rare cases where the marketing terms actually match the book: this..."
The Fixer (The Fixer #1)
 
5.0
"When Tess's grandfather's memory becomes progressively worse, her older sister, Ivy, steps in and whisks her away to Washington, while..."
The Naturals
 
4.7
"I was actually quite surprised by how much I enjoyed The Naturals. In the world of YA, it is..."
Nobody
 
3.7
"Claire is no one. Her parents forget she exists. She has no friends, and can't even talk to people on..."
Killer Instinct (The Naturals #2)
 
3.3
"I'm not going to pretend and say this is the type of book I like to read. I'm a big..."
The Naturals
 
4.3
"This book was way beyond my normal reading zone, and I am SO glad I read it. Seriously. It was..."
The Naturals
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS I really enjoyed reading this book, which surprised me since I wasn't actually planning on reading this..."
The Naturals
 
3.3
" I’ve always found the ability to profile and read body language, manerisms, and nonverbal clues interesting. So interesting, in..."
Every Other Day
 
3.0
"I came into Every Other Day expecting an angsty teen paranormal with dramatic love scenes and gloomy prose. Instead, I..."
Nobody
 
4.0
"When I got the review request for Nobody, I was really excited. I had only ever read one of..."
Nobody
 
3.3
"I have always been a sucker for assassin books, and so when this one mentioned assassins, I was like "yes!"...."
Nobody
 
4.0
"Nobody is nothing like I thought it would be - this is definitely something that I would not have picked..."
Nobody
 
3.7
"Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes Published by: EgmontUSA On Shelves Now Reviewed by: Middle Sis Jenn The Sisters Say: Assassins...."
Every Other Day
 
4.3
"What I Loved: This is a fast-paced, action-packed story that still delivers plenty of heart. As a huge fan..."
Nobody
 
3.7
"A teenage assassin, an intriguing world focused on the manipulation of energy and "The Society",a secret organization that needs..."
Taken By Storm (A Raised By Wolves Novel)
 
5.0
"Opening sentence: "I ran as though my life depended on it." Taken By Storm is a success! Taken..."