Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1975
The Memory of Light
(Updated: January 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Depression is a subject some people still feel uncomfortable discussing but I feel very strongly that it needs to be addressed. Most books out there address what leads up to someone trying to attempt suicide. THE MEMORY OF LIGHT shows what happens after the attempt.

THE MEMORY OF LIGHT starts right after Vicky Cruz wakes up in Lakeview Hospital Mental Disorders ward after a failed suicide attempt. Her life hasn't been the same after her mother died of cancer. Vicky's father though has been in denial over her depression and even her suicide attempt. While at the hospital, Vicky finds herself with other teens who struggle with their own mental illnesses. Mona, who has bipolar disorder; E.M. who is always angry, Gabriel, who seems perfect but is hiding his own secret, and Dr. Desai. Vicky finds that this group is willing to listen and accept her for who she is. This is very unlike the competitive structure in her family. Through this all, Vicky needs to not only face her own demons but find the strength to want to live.

What worked: The voice is authentic with Vicky coming to terms with her depression. There are some really great images where she describes her feelings and what lead her to want to attempt to kill herself.

...Sometimes it's like the hum of an air conditioner, you know? Always there but noticeable only when I paid attention. And other times it just appeared out of nowhere, like my cat jumping on my lap."

Her relationship with her father, who is in denial, is very realistic. Some people are very uncomfortable on this subject and her father is one of them. I really felt the scenes that showed the interaction between them was real.

One huge thing that worked had to be the observations others had of those who are struggling with schizophrenia. A friend of mine described similar things whenever she visited a friend's tween who they think has schizophrenia. Author nailed the whole switching from the person you know to the one that hears the voices. The shift in personalities can be subtle and/or quick.

The scenes were Mona is manic were very realistic from the pent up antsy energy,talking super fast, to self-medicating. I grew up with a bipolar father, uncle, and older brother who all refused to take lithium or get treatment. So I could connect with Mona's struggles and how much she loved the energy of not taking her medicine.

I also loved how Vicky mentioned that she wrote poetry to deal with her depression. I did the very same thing when I was a young adult. Poetry 'saved' me as I was able to write what I was feeling when I felt I couldn't talk to others.

What I did have issues with though had to be how fast these teens bonded at the hospital. I never had to stay in a hospital but I've had a friend whose son has been in a few. There has been more in his groups than the one in the book but then again each experience is different. At times though this story had a RED BAND SOCIETY feel going for it where the teens automatically connect. Sure, E.M. at first was a little standoffish and blunt to the point of being offensive, but not much longer? He was there with the others.

Another thing that I felt held the story back had to be how quick most of the them were self-diagnosing each other. It felt almost a little too convenient. I do know that there are those that do research their illnesses but not all.

Overall, loved the insight into a teen's depression and what led her to attempt suicide. Realistic depictions that show teens dealing with schizophrenia and bipolar disorder. Also authentic portrayal of how some family/friends are in denial to why a love one might try to attempt suicide.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."