Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1482
A Must Read Christmas Anthology
(Updated: December 24, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Christmas has to be one of my all-time favorite holidays. I also love short story anthologies. Put the two of these together and you have one winning collection!

MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME is a collection of twelve holiday stories that range from NA to YA. Each one is a contemporary tale that is sure to leave readers with a holiday spirit!

Some of my favorites include: ANGELS IN THE SNOW by Matt de La Pena. A Latino teen is left house sitting a cat in New York City during Christmas break and homesick for his home back in California. When a attractive girl asks for help to fix her broken shower, things suddenly get a little brighter.

WELCOME TO CHRISTMAS, CA by Kiersten White is about a teen who lives in Christmas, Ca where nothing really happens. Just when she thinks she can't stand it anymore, a new cook shows up at the restaurant she works at and brings his own type of Christmas magic.

STAR OF BETHLEHEM by Ally Carter has a girl switch airline tickets with a stranger and finds herself in Oklahoma with a cute guy and his family. She finds that by running away she might in fact have found what she was really looking for.

KRAMPUSLAUF by Holly Black shows the twisted version of Santa Claus.

There's others that are equally great like IT'S A YULETIDE MIRACLE, CHARLIE BROWN by Stephanie Perkins on how gaining the courage to ask a stranger for help might lead to other better things.

This great collection of short contemporary Christmas is a must have for the holiday season.
Good Points
1. Great collection of short contemporary Christmas Tales
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

The Incredible Rockhead
 
3.0
"This is a fast-paced comic that reminded me of a bit of Diary of a Wimpy Kid (nerd w/nerdy friend..."