Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1382
A Must Read Christmas Anthology
(Updated: December 24, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Christmas has to be one of my all-time favorite holidays. I also love short story anthologies. Put the two of these together and you have one winning collection!

MY TRUE LOVE GAVE TO ME is a collection of twelve holiday stories that range from NA to YA. Each one is a contemporary tale that is sure to leave readers with a holiday spirit!

Some of my favorites include: ANGELS IN THE SNOW by Matt de La Pena. A Latino teen is left house sitting a cat in New York City during Christmas break and homesick for his home back in California. When a attractive girl asks for help to fix her broken shower, things suddenly get a little brighter.

WELCOME TO CHRISTMAS, CA by Kiersten White is about a teen who lives in Christmas, Ca where nothing really happens. Just when she thinks she can't stand it anymore, a new cook shows up at the restaurant she works at and brings his own type of Christmas magic.

STAR OF BETHLEHEM by Ally Carter has a girl switch airline tickets with a stranger and finds herself in Oklahoma with a cute guy and his family. She finds that by running away she might in fact have found what she was really looking for.

KRAMPUSLAUF by Holly Black shows the twisted version of Santa Claus.

There's others that are equally great like IT'S A YULETIDE MIRACLE, CHARLIE BROWN by Stephanie Perkins on how gaining the courage to ask a stranger for help might lead to other better things.

This great collection of short contemporary Christmas is a must have for the holiday season.
Good Points
1. Great collection of short contemporary Christmas Tales
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...

Latest Member Reviews

The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Expertly written historical fiction. A gutting, wrenching, reverberating work of heart. The subject matter made this reader hesitate initially..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
The Book Thief
 
4.3
"Amazing how it can be both dark and inspiring at the same time. I didn't know what to think about..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"Absolutely brilliant! With Death as the narrator, this book takes you through a few years in the life of a..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Where does one even begin with this book? Nothing I say could ever really do it justice. I guess I..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Pillage (The Pillage Trilogy #1)
 
3.7
"I really like Pillage. It started out kind of iffy and I could put the book down without any real..."
The Book Thief
 
4.0
"I first read this book for my 8th grade English class, almost four years ago. When I joined Goodread a..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"THE BOOK THIEF is the kind of book that’ll make you cry; bawl your eyes out in the middle of..."
The Book Thief
 
3.3
"What is there to like? • It’s a story about the importance of telling and reading stories. Liesel and Max..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"It is easy to say that this book is unforgettable. Because it really is. I will never in this lifetime..."
Breaking Stalin's Nose
 
4.0
"Sasha Zaichik, the protagonist in this short novel, Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin, is less a hero than an..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."