Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1656
Just as Amazing as I Expected
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
MY THOUGHTS
I've had such luck with books lately! This book has been yet another anticipated read that met, maybe even exceeded my high expectations!

Lee has always been able to detect gold, enough gold to keep her family safe. She's kept it a secret, but someone knows and will do anything for the gold, and to have control of her. To escape, Lee decides to flee to California and meet her best friend along the way. But it's not easy, not at all, and she certainly can't travel as a girl.

The entire premise of this book is just so interesting! It's about a girl who can detect gold, during the Gold Rush Era. This was all done really well, and the plot did revolve around Lee's ability, but the setting actually felt more important. That sounds bad, but I actually loved it. This book includes Lee's journey to California, that's the majority of the book. While in some other books, I find traveling a bit boring, this was actually very interesting! Lee has to go through a lot to get to California, so there's not a dull moment, and the historical element was incredible! It really did feel like I was in that period!

I didn't realize this while going into this book, but it has one of my favorite tropes: a girl dressing as a boy. Major props in general for having my favorite trope, but it also was done in a very satisfactory way. Meaning: She was a boy for the majority of the book. Anyway Lee is a great MC. She's obviously strong and resourceful, she's able to go through so much and make it. Jeff is her best friend and he's also an amazing character! Actually, all the characters in this book are so well-developed, even the horrible ones!

Lastly, there isn't really a romance in this book. This is a shame because I was shipping things, but I expect romance in the next book. Maybe just a little bit?

IN CONCLUSION
Overall, I loved this book! It was as amazing as I expected! The plot was unique, the historical elements were fantastic, and all of the characters were incredible well-developed! I admit I am very curious what will happen next in this series!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Charlie's Song
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna Charlie is a would-be singing star whose mixed up family keeps standing in her way. Shes..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna For a smart girl, Emily is planning to do something really stupid . . . Shes..."
Daredevils
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Iryna Lizzie loves playing hockey, despite being stuck on a boys team with teammates who treat her..."