Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1251
My Favorite of the Series!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
MY THOUGHTS
This is a very interesting series, definitely unique among all the paranormal clones so I was excited to pick the conclusion to this series up. It took a bit for me to get into at first, due to book amnesia, but once I did, I found a very high-stakes conclusion!

Emma is just starting up at a new school, if only that were the worst of her problems. Someone she cares for could go to jail, an evil spirit is intent on revenge by destroying everything Emma loves, and there's a bully who isn't afraid to use dark magic. Emma wants to make sure that she, and all those that she loves, can survive this, but will she destroy her soul in her search for her own revenge?

This book immediately dives into the action, which is okay, but I was just very confused. I had difficulty remembering the events in the last book (due to my terrible memory), so I had no clue what was going on in the first few chapters. Thankfully, I was able to get my memory back and be able to fully understand what was going on. This book gives you enough details of the last books for you to understand things (if it's been awhile), but not too much info to annoy those that are binge-reading the series, so I'm thankful for that.

As for the plot, this book felt so different than the other books. Being the conclusion, there is a lot more going on. Emma basically has three different enemies in this one, which is not an easy thing to take care of. Thus, this book was a lot more action-packed than the previous book. It was so hard to put this book down, since I needed to know what would happen next! I also mentioned earlier how unique this series is among the YA paranormals. This entire series is about Hoodoo, the entire plot is just so different.

The setting of this book and the overall feeling is different from the other books too. The other books take place in the summer, while this one takes place during the start of school. This setting change actually dramatically changes things. This book also felt somewhat darker than the other books. The other books were dark, of course, but I felt like this book was entirely dark, if that makes any sense.

As for characters, Emma definitely does grow throughout the series. It's hard for me to recall what she was like in the beginning of the series, but it's hard for me to realize that Emma isn't even 15. Emma has had to grow up so much and she's become such a strong girl. This book also has a focus on Emma's character, since she has to fight the darkness in herself.

As for romance, there wasn't a whole lot of it, mostly due to the events of the last book. I'm torn on the romance. The romance of this series is more light than some other YA books, but I also don't like how in love they are. I guess I'm just a non-romantic, but I always have a hard time believing that high schoolers are that in love. Still, it doesn't distract at all from the story, so I won't complain too much.

IN CONCLUSION
Overall, I thought this was a fantastic conclusion to this series! This is actually my favorite out of the three! This book was action-packed, dark, and so very different than other books out there. I really think that more people should know about this series, meanwhile, I'll be waiting for more by Lea Nolan.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."