Review Detail

The Shadow Queen FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 4516
Retelling at its finest
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
When Lorelai was a young child who watched her stepmother, Queen Irina, destroy her family (literally), she vowed to return to take back the throne. In the years following, Lorelai trained her body, mind, and magic to become better than the dangerous woman crushing Lorelai’s beloved kingdom. Now, the time has come to face Irina. A nearby Prince Kol has just sorrowfully stepped up to his own kingdom’s throne after tragic deaths in the ogre wars, and he makes a deal with Irina to save his people…in exchange for Lorelai’s heart. As the two young royals both journey to save their kingdoms, they will find they have more in common than expected, but the wicked queen won’t go down without a war against all who oppose her.

On paper, THE SHADOW QUEEN proclaimed everything I love: fairy tale retellings, strong characters, magic, and castles. No matter how good a synopsis sounds, however, there is no guarantee that those elements will all work together to create a brilliant story. Thank the skies, THE SHADOW QUEEN swept past every expectation I had with wings stronger than a dragon’s.

The characters are the bleeding heart of the story (pun unintended, but happily accepted). Lorelai is determined, kind, and fierce. She is a true warrior, full of honor and an unwavering love for her suffering kingdom. What I love most about her is her strategizing. She isn’t one to leap into a dangerous situation without a plan or a confidence in her abilities. Her calculating mindset, combined with her very sincere resolve, make believing in her place as queen easy. Likewise, Kol is an equally remarkable character, and I love the dragon action tied in with him. Their relationship evolves from one of almost diplomatic respect to a deep friendship to a slow, slow romance, and it holds all the warmth and adorableness of a fairy tale with the sweet awkwardness and complexities that come with learning to trust someone in a dangerous world.

The villain, Queen Irina, is heartbreakingly realistic. Readers will see her continuously presented with chances to be merciful, to be kind, and to simply not act evil. At the end of the day, Irina is not a monster born to do bad; she is a person with power who, when presented with a choice, chooses evil, revenge, and hate. When stripped down to their hearts, Irina and Lorelai truly reveal what consequences those choices have.

As much as I adore the main characters, the secondary characters, especially Jyn, Trugg, and Sasha, are such delightful additions to the story. I laughed so many times during their dialogues. The battles scenes throughout the story are truly epic as well, often involving mountains, waterfalls, and giant trees.

C.J. Redwine’s THE SHADOW QUEEN is retelling at its finest, taking the bare bones of the original and shaking everything up to see how the story could be different. Lorelai is the kind of queen we can all hail with strength and a desire to do good as her most powerful arsenal.
Good Points
-Great characters
-Complex villain
-Awesome twist on Snow White
-Sassy Sasha the gyrfalcon
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I learned a lot about parkour and also Islam from this book. I appreciate a book that focuses around a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"Adventure, sport, romance and cross-cultural understanding"
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Below The Moon
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
 
4.0
"A great sequel! The Story: The book picks up right where Over Ruled left off. Jade is the new..."
Twisted Saga Collection 1
 
4.0
"Cassie, Marley, Tyler and Eve were great characters with well developed backstories. I enjoyed the story, it did..."
Utopia
 
3.5
"What I Liked Dystopian is one of the most expensive genres out there. There is a multitude of things one..."
When Darkness Falls
 
3.8
"The story: When seventeen-year-old Austen finds her dad’s car on the side of the car with a dead women inside..."
Dragon's Awakening
 
4.0
"When Kaylee goes on a date and the guy tries to make a move on her, she accidentally calls on..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"Format: Paperback As a mother of three young children it is very hard to find time to read. This is..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"I loved it! I'm so delighted to have gotten to read the 2nd book in this series! If you love..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"I was hooked from the beginning and it had my attention all the way through. Great book! "
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."